Sweet, Sweet Baby


I haven’t said anything about my beloved Lovegirl in a while, so I thought I’d rectify that today!

Lovegirl is now all of 16 months old and continues to be the best thing in my world. Smoochy runs a close second, but she definitely has the lead in this race.

She walks – my girl decided to give us an early Christmas present and really started walking on December 18, 2006. Sometimes she does her Redd Foxx as Fred Sanford impersonation and puts her left hand over her chest while slightly waving the right one in the air for balance. So unbelievably cute.

She talks - dog, God, yes, please, no ma’am, juice, Mama, Da (refuses to add that second “da”), nose, hi, bye, night-night, walk, and six are among her favorite words. I don’t know what’s up with “six,” but if you count to five, she’ll definitely pipe up with six. Weird kid.

She’s an addict - imagine pulling into your garage after having filled a cough syrup prescription for your baby less than 3 minutes prior. Now imagine opening the car’s back door. There’s your kid in her car seat – legs crossed, big smile on her face with an empty cough syrup bottle in her right hand, the bottle top in her left hand and all she’s saying is “mmmm, good!” Ever called poison control? Let me tell you – save yourself the headache and wasted time and just hightail your *%$ to the emergency room. Ever cursed, prayed to God, and tried to figure out how you were going to explain to your husband that your stupidity killed the baby all at the same time???? Long story short – she did not consume an entire bottle of cough syrup (which totals 100 ml just in case you do ever decide to go against the wisdom dispensed here and call poison control). She had instead somehow managed to pour it under the floor mat on the passenger side of the car. Of course, that was the one spot in the car that her semi-hysterical parents hadn’t patted down and felt. We discovered this after 2 1/2 hours at the friendly local emergency room and a clean bill of health from a doctor who made Doogie Howser seem middle aged. Believe me when I say she will never again have the opportunity to hold the stapled prescription bag from the pharmacy. Never.

She’s outgrown her “fro-hawk” - when Lovegirl was born, her hair laid flat on her head. When she was about 4 months old, it started kind of sticking up and we noticed she didn’t really have a head full of hair – the sides were on the spare side. She had an afro/mohawk kind of look going on. So we’d say that she had a fro-hawk or a mo-fro. Well, lo and behold, her hair has come on in and my beloved now has a head full o’ hair. It’s the small things in life that keep me happy!

I never really thought I’d be one of those parents who talked a lot about their kids. Now I realize that all parents do it. We can’t help it. They’re awesome. They’re funny. They are love. They’re all-consuming.

I have however decided that I’ve got to find some outlets in my life that let me slightly remove myself from “all Lovegirl, all the time” mode. So, I’m instituting 1st Thursdays with a small group of friends/acquaintances. On the first Thursday of each month (hence the clever name) we are going to get out of the house and do something different. A movie we wouldn’t normally see, an experience we wouldn’t normally partake in, a new restaurant. Something different once a month. A once we’ve exchanged greetings – kids, husbands, and significant others are not to be discussed. I always complain about living in this great Mississippi metropolis because I find it boring without a lot to offer. I’ve finally realized that I have no right to complain because I don’t take advantage of the things it does have to offer. I’ll keep ya posted.

Peace.

One thought on “Sweet, Sweet Baby

Leave a Reply

