Home » Food » Tasty!

Tasty!

 coconut-milk.jpg

 In my never ending quest for tasty, reasonably healthy meals that everyone in the family will enjoy, I ran across a recipe for curried chicken on the back of a can of coconut milk and decided to give it a try.  Made the recipe last night for dinner – as printed on the can – and will definitely be adding this to the rotation – Smoochy, Lovegirl, and I all agreed this was a winner.  A very simple, tasty dinner that can be on the table in less than 20 minutes.  If you’re not already making this, I suggest you give it a whirl – easily adaptable to suit your family no matter how large, small, or picky.

Next time I make this, I’ll add a wider variety of veggies to the whole dish and more curry paste to my individual serving.  I already know that when my parents are in town, I’ll be making it with shrimp and/or tofu as well. 

From my oh-so-shaky memory, I give you:

Thai Chicken Curry

1 can coconut milk (I used low fat)
1 lb. chicken breasts, cut into chunks
1/2 cup frozen green peas
1/4 cup bamboo shoots (I used the whole can – about a cup?)
1 or 2 T green curry paste (I only used 1t -Smoochy doesn’t like very spicy food)
1 or 2 T fish sauce
1/3 cup chicken broth

Pour coconut milk and chicken broth in a large pan.  Simmer for a few minutes.  Add chicken, peas, curry paste and fish sauce.  Simmer ’til chicken is done.  That’s it!  I served over Jasmine rice.  (For the real recipe, consult the back of the nearest can of coconut milk)

4 thoughts on “Tasty!

  1. OMG l’m now a big fun of Thai Food, friend cooked a Thai fest for me and a couple of mates on Sunday.. boy all I can say is YUM, YUM, YUM

  2. This is one of my staples. I also make a Thai Peanut Sauce that I add to stir fried chicken and fresh vegetables. Definitely add other veggies- curry works great with just about anything!

Leave a Reply

