Happy Monday!

i-won.jpg

See that trophy?  Yep – that one – right up there.  I won one that looks just like it this weekend.  Could not believe it.  I placed third in my age group in the 5K I did on Saturday.  I rock!  Okay, so really,  I think there were only 4 or 5 in my age category, but hey, I won, I’ve got a trophy to prove it, and I have finally – after 34 years on this planet – won an award for my physical prowress!  Maybe I should rename this blog . . . . “Athletic Girl” has a nice ring to it don’t you think?  I am more sore after this weekend than I would’ve thought.  The course did include a couple of steep hills and I think that fact coupled with my lack of pre-walk stretching has given me a nice case of very sore shins and tight hamstrings.  My walking buddy and I are contemplating doing either a 15K in November or a 1/2 marathon in January. 

My child screamed like a banshee again this morning when I dropped her off at school.  Usually she just cries.  Today, she decided to wail “mommy, mommy” as I walked away.  Great Lovegirl, add to whatever working mother guilt Mama already has.  Tomorrow, it really is Smoochy’s turn.

I watched Deja Vu last night.  How embarassed should I be that I just didn’t get it?  And life is too short for me to watch it again in the hopes of better understanding.  I fell asleep trying to watch Because I Said So.  I don’t think I’ll bother with that again either.  Explaining to your mother what the big O (and I don’t mean O*prah) feels like?  Puhleeze.

Didn’t get around to making the peach cobbler – the peaches I bought aren’t ripe enough.  I’m hoping a few days in the cabinet in a paper bag will help soften them up.  Of course, I’m also hoping that I actually remember to take the peaches out of the cabinet before, oh say, November.  I did cook two meals yesterday as planned.  The Morroccan Chicken is pretty good as was the Curry Couscous.  The Couscous will probably be in limited rotation – Lovegirl and I love couscous – Smoochy doesn’t.  Not sure about the chicken yet – Lovegirl and I ate it last night and we enjoyed the “yellow chicken.”  If Smoochy likes it, I’ll throw it in the mix on a regular basis as well.   

One more thing before I go.  In this day of limited and poor customer service, I’d like to give a big “atta boy” to the folks at iTu*nes.  I emailed them and let them know about the inclusion of the  “F” word in Maroon 5’s “Makes me Wonder.”  They acknowledged that the song should’ve been labeled explicit (I haven’t gone back to see if they’ve done so) and credited me for a couple of songs.  Very nice!

5 thoughts on “Happy Monday!

  1. Congrats on the trophy – yay for you, Athletic Girl!!

    That’s cool that they gave you free songs.. and that’s great that you’re being a good citizen. Not everyone would take the time to even email the people with poor customer service!

  2. Thank you so much ladies! I really am way more excited about my little trophy than I should be :)

    Dancer — thanks for stopping in and commenting, glad to have you here — I’ll be visiting your spot shortly.

    Holli — you know, DC has always been my dream place to live (especially since I’ve been stuck living in MS), and you’re not helping any w/the pics of all the adventures you and Faith have had in the last few days. Truly, I am jealous. And yeah, I’m making a point to thank and acknowledge good customer service instead of always gripping about the bad.

    Peace and blessings

Leave a Reply

