Hip Hop Honors – The Review

A few thoughts I had while watching the VH1 Hip Hop Honors:

  • Timbaland is hell-a-foine.
  • Eve is fly.
  • The phrase “yep yep” grates my nerves.
  • I may still have a crush on Heavy D.
  • T Pain and Ne-Yo singing New Jack Swing.  Hmmm . . .
  • La Di Da Di?  Oh yeah!
  • Kool Moe Dee is FAT.  No “ph” here.
  • Michael Jackson was New Jack?  Who knew?
  • The Honors should stick to rap only – no singing.
  • I never liked Wrecks-n-Effect.  Rump Shaker.  Yecccch.
  • Wild Style????  Can anyone help me out with this one?
  • I had a big crush on Jalil from Whodini.  Did he always talk like that?  Did he have a stroke?
  • Whodini sounds bad.
  • “Freaks are so bad they got they own dance”
  • Love me some Calvin “Snoop Dog” Broadus.
  • West Coast Represent!
  • Is that Roy Orbison?
  • Guess you still can’t say “187 on an undercover cop.”
  • Hee-hee.  Ice T crip walked!
  • Where is my A Tribe Called Quest anthology?  Must find.
  • De La Soul.  Miss them.
  • Busta Rhymes is silly w/a capital S.

Having said all of that, I thought this year’s show was just okay.  I guess if I were grading, I’d give it a B-/C+.  Brought back some great memories, but I don’t think the performancs were that great, and they could’ve totally eliminated that tribute to Wild Style -whatsoever the heck that is. 

Okay, it’s time for all good Nerd Girls to go to bed.  Peace.  I’m out.

3 thoughts on “Hip Hop Honors – The Review

  1. Happy birthday to you!

    Drat, I missed the show. I was so into writing something that I completely forgot about it. I think I saw pictures online somewhere though and Busta is looking kinda chunky. I think he should have left the dreds on his head. But maybe he was balding and didn’t want to look like Predator as he gets older.

    Hope you have a wonderful day!

  2. Liz — thanks for the birthday wishes! I’m certain they’ll repeat that show so much in the upcoming months that you’ll be able to catch it. And you’re right – Busta was definitely sporting a pudgy belly under that heavy coat last night.

  3. thanks for checking up on me, and thanks for still keeping me on your blogroll. i’ve had some personal challenges, but i’m a survivor. i hope all is well with you and lovegirl!

    hugs,
    m

Leave a Reply

