Home » Life In General » Hold On . . . a Change Is Coming

Hold On . . . a Change Is Coming

If you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, perhaps you’ve picked up on the fact that I am NOT happy with my job.  I am grateful to have one, but that’s about it.  The only thing that was making my gig slightly palatable was the fact that I was going to go back to school (for free, courtesy of the job) and get my PhD in Epidemiology.  Then, due to low enrollment/graduation rates and a departmental upheaval of sorts, the PhD program was cancelled.  So, here I’ve been.  Working as a secretary, royally pissed about it, applying for job after job, with no relief in sight.

I prayed that God would please send me something.  I couldn’t/didn’t get any more specific than that.  At this point, I didn’t even know what to ask for.

Today, I got to work and there is a new degree program scrolling through the announcements on the hospital’s splashpage – a Master’s – in Higher Education Administration, Student Services!  I am so psyched.  I was looking at the PhD in Higher Ed a while back, but couldn’t figure out how to do it since it’s in Oxford – nearly 3 hours away.  So yep – I whooped when I saw the info this morning.  I’ve called, talked to the program’s director, found out that the program is a combination of online courses and video courses that’ll be broadcast locally. AND if the program is successful, they’re considering offering the PhD in Higher Ed Admin online in a few years.

Looks like Nerd Girl is headed back to the hallowed halls of higher learning y’all.

I AM SO EXCITED!!!!!!!

 

5 thoughts on “Hold On . . . a Change Is Coming

Leave a Reply

