Home » Life In General » Shake it Off

Shake it Off

I feel a funk coming on.  I am trying my best to shake it.

There’s nothing wrong per se, but it sure doesn’t seem like there’s necessarily anything right either.

I am tired of hearing about the stock market.  It’s not that I don’t care.  But I don’t care.  Please dear news broadcasters of America – tell me SOMETHING else.  I’m almost ready to hear the local body counts on the news again.

My job is so dull and uninspiring.  I am, however, sane enough to know that I should be extremely grateful to even be employed in these lovely economic times.  I am trying to be a good steward of the job I have to get to the job I want.  Pass me not o gentle Savior.

School.  Yeah, school.  I am behind.  I’ve been reading, but not enough.  Ditto for the writing.  I feel like by the time I get myself together, the semester will be over and I’ll be trying to figure out where the last 3.5 months went.

Smoochy is good.  Lovegirl is good.  For this I am eternally grateful.

What do you do when you need to shake a case of the blahs?

7 thoughts on “Shake it Off

  1. My case of “Blahs” lead me to impulse shopping. Nothing like a new outfit or shoes to make you feel a little better. Other remedies included treating myself to the spa, movies or to dinner.

  2. I tend to immerse myself in reading to shake the blahs, no great solution I’m afraid. I have been learning to just pick up the phone and talk to someone supportive, very helpful but I don’t always think to do it. Hope you shake them off soon.

  3. Girl, There’s something in the air because I spent a few moments boo-hoooing on the phone with my cousin a few days ago, not quite sure why, but definitely feeling the blues. She patiently listened, let me get it all out and this morning while sitting at my desk in came a bouquet of the most beautiful flowers. Yes, from my dear cousin. I was surprised, pleased and of course my day started looking up and as I looked for a place to put the flowers, I had to move a vase on my desk and guess what? That very vase came with a bunch of flowers she sent me last October when I feeling blue. In fact, I’d tucked the note that came with last year’s bunch in the vase at some point and this morning when I read it I had to burst out laughing because it read, “Perk Up Pumpkin.” So, maybe there’s some fall fog falling over some of us.

    No worries, we’ll find our way back to our usual gleeful selves.

  4. Alright, now that I’m all moved by Mango’s story about the flowers…

    I hear you. Enough with the overload of fear-inducing news. Whenever folks get on the TV and try to scare me, I figure they’ve got to be full of it in some way.

    Running is helping me keep my head up. Runner’s high is a lifesaver.

  5. Thanks ladies! I think I’m going to go to the gym this evening and do straight cardio for about an hour – I’ll be so exhausted, I won’t remember that I’m in a bit of a funk.

    Have I mentioned lately how great I think all of my readers are? You all rock!!

  6. My shakes come on both sides of the spectrum. I either eat pints or ice cream OR go to the gym. Last week it was ice cream, today I have my gym bag with me. I also schedule meetings with my nearest and dearest. It’s nothing like half-priced appetizers and martinis on a random night and girl talk with my faves to make me feel better about EVERYTHING!!!

  7. To shake off the blahs I’ll meditate, or drone out and watch one of my favorite tear jerker movies.

    I’ll also just go to a free dance class. There’s tons of em in NYC. I despise the gym.

Leave a Reply

