Time’s Up!

procastination2

Don’t talk about it, be about it. 
Don’t put off until tomorrow what you could do today. 
Time waits for no man. 
Procrastination is the grave in which opportunity is buried.

I believe all of the above to be true.  And still I procrastinate.  Taxes?  We’re having them done today.  Homework? I do it at the last possible moment.  This morning?  Washed and dried a load of clothes so my girl would have  a long sleeved tshirt to wear to school. 

I am through.  I’m tired of running around trying to play catch up because I’ve put something else off – again.  If I’m really honest about it, most of the “crises” in my life are self-inflicted.  If I would get on top of my game – and stay there –  my life would be so much better for it.

I have been procrastinating for a very long time and I’m declaring war on this very nasty habit right now.  Not only do I need to get myself together, I also don’t want Lovegirl to think that being last-minute is okay.  Even if I don’t say “procrastinating is okay,” my actions indicate that it is.  This is definitely a habit I do not want to pass on.

So, I’ve drafted a list of “next steps” that I will be implementing to help me bid procrastination adieu.

Next Steps

  • Pray about it.  I’ve tried to break this habit on my own and have failed.  Miserably.  Time for divine intervention.
  • Keep a running to-do list.  Check it daily.  Do one thing on it daily.
  • Get back on my home/school schedule.  Last semester I’d assigned myself certain tasks either home or school related to do every day.  As long as I stayed on schedule, the house was pretty clean and my school related work was current.  Now?  Not so much.
  • Accept that I am a morning person and not a night owl.  If I tell myself “I’ll stay up late and do it” I am lying.  My best bet?  Designate time in the morning to take care of “little” things around the house.

Okay, that’s it.  I don’t want to overwhelm myself and give up before I start.  

Two side notes:

  1. I totally sent my girl to school today in red for “all red day.”  Which I have now realized is next week.  Did I mention she wears a uniform to school???
  2. I got thrown off on my pushups.  I forgot to do an “exhaustion” test on Saturday (as many good form pushups as possible) and did it on Sunday instead.  So this week I’ll do my pushups on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday and get back to MWF next week.  This morning I did 12+17+13+13+17=72 (week three, column 2). 
5 thoughts on “Time’s Up!

  1. I love the idea of the home/school schedule – which for me would just be home, but you get the picture. I am implementing a schedule today. This instant!

    Laughing (sorry) at Lovegirl wearing all red on the wrong day, but only because that is something I would do. Viva wears a uniform too, and I can’t tell you what an evil look she gave me one day when we showed up with her in uniform — and no one else was. Turns out it was a “free dress” day. Now she is extra vigilant to let me know ahead of time.

    This pushup thing is baffling to me. I did my exhaustion test on Sunday also and actually did less than when I started! HUH?? I am re-doing Week Four so I don’t hurt myself. I’m up to 77 pushups as of last workout and I have to do my sets tonight. Will update later.

    Anyway, don’t talk about it, be about it! That’s me, signing off now. :-)

  2. @ TM – The first thing she said to me when I picked her up? “Mama, you must be confused! Red day is next week. That’s okay Mama – I still look good!”

    @ Lisa Blah Blah – Girl, when I stuck to schedule, I really did do quite well. I’d sit down on Sunday, see what I needed to do that week and schedule the week accordingly. My goal was (and shall be again) three gym days, three school days and three housework days. I just combined as was best for the week. Let me know how it works for you.

    I don’t know about these pushups either, but I’m going to keep pressing. But um, what are you doing on week 4? I think we’re just on week 3 – did you skip a week?

    Peace out lil homies!

  3. “Keep a running to-do list. Check it daily. Do one thing on it daily.”

    This is SO helpful. I do this and they’re words to live by!

  4. I think the first line sums it up best. “Don’t talk about it, be about it.”

    It also pays to listen to that tiny voice that speaks to you telling you to keep going when you suddenly decide you can do something later or after this and that. Some people call it intuition. Some call it the Holy Spirit. I call it both.

Leave a Reply

