Home » Books » RIF. Reading is, indeed, fundamental.

RIF. Reading is, indeed, fundamental.

books 

(not my bookshelves – I wish!)

I love to read.  I love books.  I love being transported away to a different time and place, losing myself in the plot, the scenery, the characters.  I don’t read nearly as much as I did pre-Love Girl and I miss it.  Well, while school was out for three weeks, I devoured 10 books.  None were pure garbage, most were okay, two were spectacular.  Those are the ones I want to discuss.

The first was A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini.  Oh my goodness.  This book moved me to tears.  Several times.  I cannot remember the last book I read that had that effect on me.  This is the tale of two Afghanistan women whose lives intertwine in the midst of Afghanistan’s political turmoil.  Hosseini writes in a beautifully descriptive manner that led me to devour this book in less than two days.  His first book, The Kite Runner, was excellent as well – I think A Thousand Splendid Suns was better.

The second book was Song Yet Sung by James McBride.  McBride’s first (?) book was The Color of Water which I’ve not yet read, so I went into Song Yet Sung with no real expectations one way or the other.  So good this book was.  It is about slaves, slave catchers, the Underground Railroad and the human spirit.  I truly enjoyed it and it too took me less than two days to finish.

I’m no book reviewer, and am well aware that my words do not do these books justice.  If you’re in the market for a good read – or two – don’t hesitate to pick these up.  Don’t let the subject matter steer you away.  I promise – neither is a heavy, boring read.  I was fortunate to find them on the clearance table at B.ooks A M.illion for less than $6 each.  I’m supposed to utilize our public library, but really?  If there’s one thing I’m guilty of collecting, it is books. 

Are you a reader?  What genre do you prefer?  Read any good books lately?  Do tell!

7 thoughts on “RIF. Reading is, indeed, fundamental.

  1. I love to read. Reading has been my favorite pasttime ever since I was a little girl. I love to read any and all things relating to history or love stories. It’s been so long since I’ve read a book that didn’t have to do w/ school. I have on order at my library: “The Life and Times of Mr Jiveass Nigger”, “The Color Purple”, and “By the Light of my Father’s Smile”.

  2. I love reading too…I would have to imagine that most bloggers do. My fav genre is christian fiction. It has the drama, but with a lesson or some sort of christ centered encouragement. I’ll be back with my fav book.

  3. This post is right on time. I love to read, but stop reading so much (except textbooks) during college and never picked it back up. Now, that I’m on bedrest, I’m in desperate need of something to fill my time besides TV. Thanks!

  4. I love reading!

    A couple of good reads that I have had the pleasure of reading recently are:

    Orange Mint and Honey by Carleen Brice
    Children of the Waters by Carleen Brice
    My Friend Leonard by James Frey

    They are all excellent reads!

  5. I love books! The Color of Water was really good. So was Dreams from My Father. The Kite Runner was good, too (by the Splendid Suns guy). I’m watching so many movies I’m out of the habit of reading for leisure and I don’t like that!! Soon as I’m done w/the 750, man!!

  6. I’m a huge reader. I have been since I was a child. I read all genre’s but I don’t really do too much non-fiction or historical stuff.

    I highly recommend anything by Tananarive Due – all of her books are great. My favorite is “The Between”. I read “The Time Traveller’s Wife” (movie out now) and thought it was excellent as well.

    I will have to read the “Splendid Suns”. I started it but couldn’t finish for some reason – in spite of how much I loved “The Kite Runner”. We read “Song Yet Sung” for my book club a while ago. I thought it was alright.

  7. Reading is by far my favorite thing to do. I am currently reading three books:

    1. Lucrative Love by Tom Feltenstein.
    2. Oh God! A Black Woman’s Guide to Sex and Spirituality by Rev. Dr. Susan Newman.
    3. The Autobiography of Malcolm X

    Actually I have created an additional blog. Like you I am no book reviewer, but I wanted to maintain a place where I can document each book I read and what I thought of the book (other than goodreads.com). Check it out:

    http://www.booksnobwannabe.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

