Home » All Things Beauty » One dolla!

One dolla!

Y’all.  I have lost my mind.  Well, kinda.

Last week I was walking out of K.ohls and decided to check out the little jewelry store next door.  J Jewelry I think.  Y’all!  Everything is one dollar.  Well, they do have some higher priced goods – you know, the 3 and 4 dollar stuff – but most of their merchandise can be had for the low, low price of a dollar. 

Of course, no one will ever mistake this stuff for estate jewelry, but some of it looks pretty good and  I happily partook.  Last week I spent seven whole dollars and bought two bracelet and earring sets (one brown, one purple), two bracelets (one orange, one green), a pair of funky little summer earrings and two wooden bracelets – one light, one dark.

Well, yesterday ya girl played hooky from work and the dollar jewelry store called my name again.  My damage?  Five dollars.  This time I picked up another earring and bracelet set, two fake flowers (one brown, one black – thanks for the idea Kelly!), a yellow bracelet and a purple one.

I am spending my retirement money one dollar and one cheap piece of jewelry at a time.   I may need an intervention.

I won’t even tell you all how I almost lost my mind when we were home this summer and I realized they had watermelons at the 99 cent store!  Good watermelons.

Dollar stores – yay or nay?  What’s the best thing you’ve ever bought for a dollar??

11 thoughts on “One dolla!

  1. Hold up, wait a minute. They had watermelons at the 99 cent store and you didn’t tell me this????? And now, you’ve been accessorizing for the low low behind my back? You know, I thought I meant more to you. This hurts. *sniff sniff*

    • No grasshopper – no watermelons for 99 cents here in the ‘Sip – this was at home, home – California.

      About the jewelry store…I’m pretty sure I told you. Yeah, that’s it. I told you. You just weren’t paying attention.

  2. Dollar stores. Yay? BUT I don’t usually go to them, just due to proximity to my house. I’m not opposed to them though. ACTUALLY, over Christmas Essense did a segmenet with Kim Myles from Myles of style and she did a FAB dinner table setting with $40 and all dollar store stuff. I was floored at how fabulous it was.

    • I like D.ollar Tree which is near me for wrapping paper and the like and my latest find – the jewelry store. But let me tell you – the 99 cent only stores in California? They are the truth. They sell groceries. Not just canned goods no one has ever heard of – real, live groceries. Salmon, asparagus, bananas, watermelons….

      I may head to the library and find a copy of that Essence. Thanks!

  3. Dollar stores are a definite YAY for me. At one of ours here, they carry a makeup line that is excellent for it to be drug store quality. At Walgreens, Rite Aid, CVS and the like, expect to pay $3-6(which is still excellent) for it, whereas at the dollar store…it’s a dollar!

  4. i love sales (and was just thinking about how i want to never buy anything full price again) but my ears are starting to rebel against fake metals. idk that there’s anything i’ve been overjoyed about getting for $1. i’m sure there could be potentially maybe one day… but if it’s come i haven’t seen it yet.

  5. Vote yes on the dollar stores/ dollar tree, LOVE THEM!

    And the .99 cents store….with that puple and green logo? LOVE IT!

    I miss AZ so very much.

    My best Dollar Tree find was a charger for my daughters’ MP3 player. It was 24 bucks at Office Depot. You do the math. I bought three just in case she loses one. She didn’t lose the last one, though….I stepped on it.

Leave a Reply

