Drumroll please…introducing me.

My name is Nerd Girl and I’m a Libra.  I can’t believe people used to introduce themselves like that.  Anyhoo…

I am a 37 year old wife and mother – one count each.  I’ve got three younger brothers, 3 nieces, 1 nephew, a niece/nephew on the way, and two wonderfully nutty parents who’ve been married for 39 years (I think).

California born and bred, Arkansas educated, Mississippi’s been home for the last 11 years.

I met my hubby (aka Smoochy) in our college pharmacology class way back in 1993 when I was a mere lass of 21.  We dated for a long arse time and finally tied the knot in May, 1999.  We enjoyed life as a married couple for a long arse time and finally had our first and only kiddo (aka Lovegirl) in September 2004.

I wrangle 3rd year medical students for a living and have a nasty habit of going back to school when I get bored.  I just finished my 2nd master’s degree and am thinking about getting another one (MBA?) or biting the bullet and finding a PhD program somewhere to enroll in.

I’m a stan for Prince, find most old music quite delightful, and am thinking about learning how to dougie so that I can teach Lovegirl.

I stopped perming my hair when the kiddo was about 8 months old, locked it up maybe a year later and have loved nearly every moment of not having a head full of chemicals.  I am not, however, a natural hair nazi and there are times when I consider – ever so briefly – cutting my locs and straightening my ‘do.

I love to read, travel, and sleep.  Not necessarily in that order.  I love to laugh – if you can make me laugh, we’ll probably be cool for life.

I’m generally pretty laid back, but will act a fool over my sweet/sassy baby girl.

And I go to bed earlier than any grown woman should admit.  Speaking of which…good night!

6 thoughts on “Drumroll please…introducing me.

  1. mzinspiredmind81 says:

    LMAO!!! Love your Day 1. I think this challenge is going to be really fun! I’m still going to email you, I have been super swamped…UGH.

  2. I see I’m gonna have to go back and read to see what this challenge is THAT YOU DIDN’T TELL ME ABOUT, YOU HATER!! YOU KNOW I LOVE CHALLENGES!!! Ditto on “there are times when I consider – ever so briefly – cutting my locs and straightening my ‘do.” MAN!!! Sometimes I LONG for straight hair. The only thing that keeps me from it (2 things actually) 1) I want to see how long I can let my locs get & 2) I know my hair irritates the tar out of me in all its incarnations!!

    • I challenge you to get RJ to blogging again!!! I just stumbled across it last night, and figured why not…

      Me too! No matter how my hair is, it irritates me. So I figure I’ll stick with the locs for a while longer. Or forever. Whatever. I just want mine shoulder length, I’m not trying to have ‘em all down past my waist. Uh uh.

  3. Jurista says:

    Lol at you wrangling 3rd year med students. I’m allergic to all things medical. Left that up to my sister. Wanna know about the law? I can hook you up! I get queasy seeing Buddha take off his Band-Aid, lol.

    And dying over here at you not being a natural hair nazi! I’ve been natural since Aug ’09 and did the BC in Nov. ’09. Just enjoying my journey…not doing it for anyone else.

    And I too, was challenged by MzInspiredMind so I am blogging for the next 30 days. I think she may be on to something!

Leave a Reply

