Lions, Tigers, Bears and Other Randoms. Oh my.

  • Whoo darn hoo!  I have scored not one, but two pairs of new boots!  In case you couldn’t tell, I am ridiculous with excitement!  Do you know how hard it is to find a pair of decently priced boots in my size?  Well trust, it is.  The best part?  They were CHEAP!  I scored two pairs of tall, leather boots for less than $80!  Dear 6pm.com:  I love thee.
  • I have decided to travel using only carryons when Lovegirl and I go to Cali for Christmas.  At first I was like “I’m checking bags – I don’t want to drag bags and Lovegirl through various and sundry airports all by myself.”  But now I’ve decided the challenge of jamming everything in two small bags and saving $$ on checked bags is well worth it.  I found a slide show some stewardess did on packing in a carryon and am going to follow her lead.  You can check it out here:  http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2010/05/06/business/businessspecial/20100506-pack-ss.html.  I don’t generally overpack, but I like to know I’ve got room in my bag to bring stuff back.  I guess this will help squelch any impulse shopping urges I may get.  Do you overpack?
  • I mentioned this on FB this a.m., but I’m seriously considering dressing up for Halloween for the first time in my life.  If I decide to dress up, I’ll be dressing up as none other than Phaedra from RHOA.
  • I slipped up – a lot – on Operation Buy Nothing ’til December.  But it’s going into full effect beginning November 1.  I shall buy no clothes, accessories, etc. for myself until at least the end of November.  For real this time.  For real.
  • The Chipmunk has been talking about moving out of state.  Hope springs eternal!
  • Recently, the University of Missisippi changed its mascot from Colonel Rebel to the Rebel Black Bear (couldn’t find a pic).  I was telling my Mom that my alma maters were now Lions (UAPB), and Tigers (JSU), and Bears (UM) oh my!  I find that hilarious.  My mother on the other hand wanted to hang up in my face. 
  • My quads?  They are a burning.  I think this challenge is gonna get me right!  And I’m looking forward to the day when I can walk totally upright and pain free again.

Mmkay, that’s all.  Maybe something earthshatteringly awesome will happen on my daily 15 minute walk and I’ll be back with more interesting blog fodder.  But I doubt it.  All I’ll see are large women in cut out tops, dudes whose sole purpose in life is to be the next Wacka Flacka, and butt cracks galore.  And that’s just the employees – don’t get me started on the patients’ families!  Holla.

9 thoughts on “Lions, Tigers, Bears and Other Randoms. Oh my.

  1. AR Gal says:

    *Going to 6pm.com stat! I need a pair of new knee high brown leather boots and brown western style boots. I actually want cowboy boots but the few pairs I found are expensive as all get out…..but ohhhhhhh so purdy.

    *Carry-on luggage rules!! After SW lost my luggage in ’01, I try my best not to check a thing.

    *Hey like I said, make sure that lip gloss is poppin’!

    *My calves and abs are the most sore thing on me. I’ll take it though. The jeans are fitting a little looser. SCORE!!!

  2. If you go as phaedra don’t forget to put the entire rose garden in your hair. She’s a mess.

    I’ve never heard of 6pm.com I’m going to head over there and see what I can find

  3. onefromphilly says:

    My co-worker turned me on to 6pm.com. I’m not sure if I should thank her or punch her yet.

    New boots make me happy.

    WE had a an Autumn Brunch here at work and since I was on set up committee I could snack before anyone touched the food. I think I over-ate and now I’m sleepy.

    Maybe I’ll run at lunchtime….NOT

  4. I watched the slide show and I used a lot of those techniques the last time I took a trip. I kind of over pack by design. I take into consideration how long I’ll be there, the weather, and what we plan to do and try not to wear the same thing more than once depending on how long the stay is. Lately I’ve been kind of lazy and checking baggage though.

    I need some new shoes. It’s hard finding things in my size.

    I need to find a picture of this Rebel Black Bear just so I can see what one looks like.

  5. I was JUST about to say: ain’t you supposed to be not buying anything??? I was gonna be Gaga but it’s way too obvious and done… already. I think I’ll be Karen from Mean Girls. Rashan and I find “Lions & Tigers and Bears Oh My!” tres amusing! LOL My everything is a burnin! it hurts to DRIVE, shawty!

Leave a Reply

