Home » Life In General » Funked Out With A Gangsta Twist

Funked Out With A Gangsta Twist

  • RIP to Nathaniel Hale BKA Nate Dogg.  This dude sang some of the best hooks in rap IMHO – who else could sing about hoes in different area codes and make it sound so good??  And don’t get me started on Regulate – one of my favorites.  I don’t like all rap, but I like a lot of it and Nate Dogg was the voice that took many of the songs I like to the next level.
  • Yesterday was Scramble Day in the world of medical education.  Those graduating seniors who didn’t match with a residency program anywhere scramble to find a spot – any spot – somewhere.  We were on the phone all day long breaking hearts by telling folks we didn’t have any available spots.  I cannot imagine going through four years of medical school just to find out that I didn’t match anywhere, that I had to scramble for a position, that any position I get is only for a year, and that I’d have to do it all over again next year.  Whew.
  • My phone died again – touch screen went out.  I bought a cheapo replacement.  No me gusta.  Does anyone have a V.erizon phone that’s not “smart”?  What kind? I really don’t want to pay for a data package just to get a good phone…even though I think that’s what I’m going to end up having to do :(
  • Remember my self-imposed month long ban on exclamation points?  Yeah, it’s over – I know when to admit defeat.  I can’t do it no mo’.  I need, I crave, I want excessive punctuation.
  • !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • OMG – I watched RHOM for the first – and probably last – time last night.  What is up with the excessive plastic surgery that one chick’s mom has oh-so-obviously had?  She looks like that chick who’s famous for overdoing the surgeries.  I think the docs who agree to eff up people’s faces/bodies like that should have their licenses revoked.  Luther was not referencing plastic surgery when he sang “Never Too Much!”
  • How the hell is C.harlie Sheen selling out tours????

That’s it!  I hope you make it over the Hump with no drama!  Enjoy your day!

17 thoughts on “Funked Out With A Gangsta Twist

  1. Hearing Nate Dog’s voice always makes me go “Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeey”. #justcountry

    I thought the same thing about that chicks mom on RHOM. Her face is what nightmares are made of.

    Speaking of RHOM, I’ve watched but can’t get into it. I think my Real Housewives cup has runneth over or maybe they are just boring. Who knows. At least the OC slores are back on to keep me entertained.

    • I don’t think I’m going to hang with the Miami chicks either. They’re dull.

      Nate Dogg’s voice make me want to c.rip walk. It’s okay – I give myself the side eye for that one. o_O

  2. I LOVE “Regulate”!!!! I was way too young to understand what they were talking about when it came out but I learned all the words anyway!! Who would give up ! for a month anyway??? A CRAZY PERSON, THAT’S WHO!! Scramble day is sad :(

    • Crazy? Moi? Surely you jest!!!
      Does Rashan like the Nutella? Have you shared??
      So sad. But all my sympathy goes out the window when they start getting all rude and stuff. I really am sorry you didn’t match, but let’s not get stupid….

  3. RIP Nate Dogg :-(
    I didn’t know there was a such thing as Scramble Day–all my med school friends always matched. :-(
    I watched 5 minutes of RHOM and I was sick to my stomach looking at the mom. I think that is where the daughter is headed. The mom couldn’t even move her lips. Eww!

    • Oh, it is awful. I wouldn’t wish scramble on anyone.
      Okay, I thought it was just me – the daughter needs to stop with the surgery while she’s still (slightly) ahead.

  4. I was very sad to learn of Nate Dogg’s passing. I told my bff I was sad, part of our history – really she and I growing up to his music, is gone! Ryan Cameron just did a 4 Play @ 4 Tribute to him and I was jamming (yes, I said it) at work. I told my co-worker to warn me before someone walked up on me! lol

    RHOM, I’ve tried watching it, but I can’t seem to remember when it’s on. The mother reminds me of that movie Cher was in Mask.

    Scramble, I had no idea. One of my friends from high school husband went back to medical school and he will be finished in July. No clue that he would have to go through that process. I’m going to start praying for him now.

    • I have been listening to music that Nate was a part of since I learned of his passing – this is probably the celebrity death that has bothered me the most – so I feel you.

      Everybody doesn’t have to scramble – most people match. I’d say fewer than…5 percent don’t match and end up having to scramble. I’m praying that your friend’s husband does not end up in the 5% club!

    • LOL! I actually googled “lady with too much plastic surgery” to make sure they weren’t the same person. That’s just ridiculous. Who is telling these chicks they look good???

    • I think it’s horribly nerve wracking for those that have to go through it – but it can be a blessing in disguise. One person who scrambled into our program has definitely learned a much needed lesson in humility and I have no doubt they will be a better person and doctor for it. At the end of the day, if they scramble, they have a job for a year – it is up to them to make the most of it – and I think most recognize that and do what it takes.

Leave a Reply

