You Gon’ Eat Yo Cornbread?

Confession:  I just watched “Life” for the first time last weekend.  HIlarity!  Moving on…

With two weeks of fasting under my belt – and one week to go – I have come to a horrifying realization.

I, Nerd Girl, eat a lot of crap.

Now my meals? Well balanced – more plant than animal, appropriate serving sizes and all that jazz.  I don’t fry anything I cook.  I’m not big on soda or juice, water is my drink of choice.  But oh, I can snack!

Usually I buy the same stash of snacks weekly at the grocery store – pretzels, Doritos, sandwich creme cookies, goldfish, Triscuits.  I thought between Lovegirl’s snacks and lunches she was consuming all of the snacks.  Um, no.

We have had the same bags of Doritos, goldfish and pretzels for two weeks.  The cookie container?  Nearly full.  Smoochy doesn’t snack at all.  That means either someone is breaking in in the middle of the night gorging themselves on snack food…or it’s me.

No wonder my thighs currently need their own ZIP code.  I’m not sure how I wasn’t aware of this before, but I really wasn’t.

As I prepare to come off of this fast, I’ve got to somehow figure out a way to enjoy my favorite snacks – but definitely in moderation.  Any tips? Tricks? Clues?  I was thinking of eating clean Sunday – Friday and going “wild” on Saturdays. Anybody done this??

(I’m down 6 pounds which thrills me to no end.  I’d like to drop another 7 and then tone and maintain)

NOTW: OPI's "Not Like The Movies" This is one of those color changing polishes - it photographs silver, but on my nails it's a silvery purple and sometimes a silvery green. Its okay, not a fave.

 

11 thoughts on “You Gon’ Eat Yo Cornbread?

  1. This post made me laugh because I have the SAME problem – snacking. Here’s what I do to fight this beast:

    1 – I only buy snacks that are a fruit, vegetable, protein, or have some kind of fiber/grains. My fave snacks are grapes, clementines, watermelon, pineapples, hummus (eaten with celery, baby carrots, or pretzel crisps), light babybel cheese (eaten with reduced fat wheat thins or pretzel crisps), and granola bars.

    2 – I try to limit my snacks to no more than 3 per day and I can only have one after I’ve had a balanced meal.

    3 – When I want a snack, I make myself drink 16 oz of water first to make sure my brain isn’t disguising thirst as hunger. If I still want the snack after 16 oz of water, I eat it. Most of the time, the craving for a snack goes away.

    4 – For portion control, I separate my snacks into zip lock bags based on their serving size. This ensures that I don’t overeat and it makes the snack readily available to grab and go so that I don’t reach for something else – usually unhealthy.

    This has been working for me so far and I don’t feel deprived. Hope this helps!

  2. Fit & Fab had EXCELLENT ideas! I don’t eat it if I don’t buy it so I try to limit how often I buy it. Maybe only allow yourself a bag of each per month and then you have to make it stretch. Then fill the rest of that snacking with the good snacks.

  3. I’m sorry, I’m still getting over the fact that you’ve JUST seen Life.
    I have no help…hubby buys the family size bags of Doritos and eats them all by himself, and I devour anything sweet. We put them into a high cabinet though, so at least we’re stretching on the way to our doom.

  4. You just saw Life. Let me not talk. I’ve never seen Harlem Nights, School Daze or Jungle Fever. Mr. says my black card needs to revoked.

    I have nothing for those holographic polishes. I did buy one the other day because I just have to because I have a problem but I’m sure I won’t like it. Have you seen the new colors by L’oreal? FLY..oh but you aren’t buying anymore polish this year!! #tragic

  5. Pingback: Fighting the Snack Beast | Fitness, Finance, and Fun

  6. Life was a HOOT!

    6lbs is very good!

    Since giving up meat I’ve had to constantly challenge myself to come up with creative meals. I try hard to make sure my diet is more plant based rather than carb heavy, starchy, or cheese filled. I haven’t lost any weight but I’m 4 months meat free!!!!!

    100 calories per serving snacks work well. Portion control is the key.

    Apples, grapes, strawberries, raisins, oranges, yogurt are good for the sweet cravings.

    Nuts, cheese, crab meat are great for the salty cravings.
    I’m learning how to make all kinds of soups and creative veggie dishes. Go me!

  7. i don’t buy snacks that way I won’t eat them. The snacks i buy for Jas are things I don’t wanna snack on like GoGurt lol

    I LOVE life! Its one of my fav movies *rolls eyes at mimi’s list of movies never seen* I don’t think i can be her friend anymore lol

    I’ve been polish free for a week and I don’t like it! I just need my nails to have a break.

Leave a Reply

