C25KD1 aka Couch to 5K Day 1

Y’all!  I promise I am not going to post about every run I do (mostly ’cause there probably won’t be that many) but let me tell you – I’ve been hoodwinked! Bamboozled! Led astray! Run amuck!

Remember I signed up for C25K with the Y, yes?  Okay.  Last night was our first outing.  In preparation I downloaded a C25K app so I could see what I was in for.  The app outlined a 30 minute workout.  5 minutes of warm up, 20 minutes of run/walk, and 5 minutes of cool down.

Um, yeah.  Our group – there are 6 of us – met up at 6 to do the dang thang.  We’re led by some perky chick who could give the Kenyans a run for their money – she runs those crazy long races.  She’s also 7 weeks pregnant.  Heifer.  Anyway, where was I?

Oh yes.  We meet up and start with a 5 minute warm up walk.  I’m feeling this.  We then run. For 2 minutes!  Ma’am.  I just got off the couch.  Shouldn’t we ease into this?!?!?  What happened to the nice 90 second jog?  And we did all three miles!  I thought we’d start off with a nice 1 mile routine or something.  Nope.  We jogged/walked for an entire 3 miles.  Took us 42 minutes.  I wanted to cry.  My thighs are waging their own protest by refusing to function in the manner to which I have become accustomed.  By the time I regain feeling in my thighs it’ll be Thursday.  And time to run again.  Jesus, be some working quadriceps muscles.