Home » Life In General » And the Side-eye Award Goes To…Me. O_o

And the Side-eye Award Goes To…Me. O_o

So last night?  Yeah, I couldn’t find my way home.  Let that sink in for a moment.

I picked LG up from school at 5:00 which means we should be walking in our home at 5:05, 5:03 if the two lights between the school and the house are working in our favor.

I take our normal route only to discover that a portion of the street that runs behind our home is blocked off and I cannot turn into our subdivision.  No problem – I’ll just go back up a street and come out on another portion of the street.  Except…apparently there is no street that I can access to get where I need to go.  How do I know?  Because I spent a good 30 minutes turning up one street and down another trying to get home.  You know – the home we’ve lived in for 9 years.  Yeah, that one.

I called Smoochy and told him I couldn’t get home.  He thought the car had run hot again.  Nope.  Then that dude asked me if I was having some sort of menopausal mind lapse.  Sir!  I certainly am not.  I just can’t find a through street.  I told him forget it, I’d go around the neighborhood and come in through the back.  So 36 minutes later LG and I finally walked into our blessed house.  I was spent.  And felt really ridiculous for having such a hard time getting home.

This morning I was talking to a dad who lives behind us and guess what?  He – and a number of his neighbors – had done the same thing.  Apparently there used to me a through street (I knew it!!!) but access was closed a few years ago and now there really are only two ways into and out of our area.  Except for right now, there’s only one way in and out thanks to whatever the heck they’re doing to the street.  I fully expect it to be paved with gold for all of the hassle I encountered last night.

In case you are a visual learner, I took a few moment to sketch out my experience last night.  You’re welcome.

Grrrr…

8 thoughts on “And the Side-eye Award Goes To…Me. O_o

  1. I am very much a visual learner and appreciate your drawing. It is every thing and then some. Did our favorite LoveGirl have any commentary? *crosses fingers*

  2. Next time — and there will be a next time — pack a lunch, turn up the radio, cue #7 on the tape and party like a rock star!

    BTW isn’t that the route your daddy took for his walk?

  3. So I meant to come and laugh at you yesterday for this! LOL!

    But seriously, I can’t talk. I have a soror who everytime I go to her house I have to follow someone else out of the neighborhood because it’s THAT confusing.

Leave a Reply

