All By Myself

Saturday night I went to Jackson State to see their production of “The Color Purple.”  I must say – musicals are growing on me.  The production was really good and I was most pleased with how I’d chosen to spend my Saturday night.

I’d asked a couple of friends if they wanted to go with and no one responded with a “yes.”  So I bought my ticket and after bidding Smoochy and LG adieu, I headed over to campus to see what was what.  Shortly after a confusing moment or two at the box office window (do better with your process JSU) I was in my seat chillaxing waiting for the show to start.  Got a text from one of my friends asking me where I was.  Told her.  Who are you with?  By myself.  She responded that she could never go anywhere by herself and didn’t know how I did it.

Let me be the first to admit – I wish someone had decided to go with me.  I’d have loved to chat and grab a bite to eat before or after the show.  But no one did, so oh well.  My mama told me a long time ago that if there was something I wanted to do I should do it – whether anyone else went went me or not.  So I do.  And I’ve never regretted it.  I’m always a bit taken aback when people tell me they refuse to go anywhere by themselves.  I get it.  But really, I don’t.  You only go ’round once – why pass up opportunities that may not present themselves again?

Do you roll solo or is having company an absolute must for you?