Risky Business

This morning on the Twitter I mentioned that I was wearing an argyle sweater, a striped shirt and polka dot socks in an attempt to pattern-mix like all the fashion bloggers are doing nowadays.  And that I felt foolish.  After posting a few pics, Twitterland assured me I looked fine – but that the socks may have been overkill.  Fair enough.

Feeling all fashion forward and bold, I then threw on a pink, leather rose-shaped ring my mother brought me back from her travels.  Oh, you read right.  A pink, leather, rose-shaped ring.  Moving right along…

I pretty much wear the same thing every day.  A pair of pants, a tank top, and a cardigan.  Lighter fabrics when it’s warm, heavier when it’s cold.  But pretty much the same thing.

This week I’ve broken out of my rut – a little.  Tuesday I wore this dress (in green) with brown tights and boots.  I think it’s too short to wear to work again but guess I’ll wear it on the weekends.  Today I went “wild” and mixed patterns.  That’s all I’ve got to give.

I need to shop my closet, come up with some new combos, and expand my style just a wee bit.  Any tips, hints, suggestions?  How do you shake up your wardrobe when you’re bored with the contents of your closet – buy something new or work with what you’ve got?

Mix it up!

Why does my hand look so freakishly large?!? Never mind. Just check out my leather ring bling!

6 thoughts on “Risky Business

  1. Krissy says:

    the shirt and sweater look fine together and are the socks showing? if so, they may be doing too much lol. The ring is very cute.

    I hardly ever feel in a style rut. I live in southern cali and I can wear maxi dresses everyday unless it starts raining lol

  2. I like the shirt and sweater together. I try to switch it up with accessories, like a chunky necklace or different earrings. Small changes can make a big difference-like a new shade of lipstick or eyeshadow.

  3. I definitely go shopping….even when I know I don’t need to. I’m trying to resist the urge but looking at the pic of your sweater\shirt combo (which is all things super cute by the way) made me remember that I need to get some more structured collared shirts.

    I like the ring. It’s different. Different is good.

  4. if it ain’t broke, why fix it?
    i think that’s a good combo – though i would love to see the whole thing with the socks.
    from a fashion perspective – i sometimes like doing the unexpected, the socks sound that way.
    love the ring.
    when i’m bored…i buy shoes and plan an outfit around it. shoes are my weakness!
    sometimes i do my hair different also.

    have fun!!!

Leave a Reply

