Hope Springs Eternal

12 Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14 And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. ~ Colossians 3:12-14

So, those are my meditation verses for the week and my plan was to pray these verses every day.  Got to church yesterday and the sermon was on living a spirit-led life.  You don’t have to tell me twice!

No one has talked to my youngest brother since the middle one’s wedding back in October.  I’d already decided that I was going to send his children some books and a little change for their piggy banks as Christmas gifts.  But I don’t have his new address.  I asked around and apparently he hasn’t given anyone in the family his new address.  No one was all that hard pressed to ask him for it either.  Which I totally get, but between my meditation verses and the topic of yesterday’s sermon, I decided I would text him and ask him for his address.

Y’all already know he never responded to my text right?  Right?  Maybe he will at some point, but as of right now – nearly 24 hours after I sent the request for his address – my request has received absolutely no response.  And that really sucks.

I’m 40 years old.  Every year I know – or “know” – more and more people who die “before their time.”  And I pray for the strength of their family members.  I pray that God continues to comfort them.  I pray that the memories of  love and good times they shared on this earth will sustain them on their lowest days.  And then I think about the fact that I have an estranged sibling.  And that makes me sad.  I know that as long as we are alive, there is always hope for reconciliation.  And I know that life, precious, fragile, God-given life, is not to be taken for granted.  And I hope and pray that our reconciliation happens.  Soon.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Hope Springs Eternal

  1. I will continue to lift your brother and your family up in prayer and pray that God will soften his heart towards you all, even though you don’t know the reasons why he has chosen to estrange himself from you.

  2. I’ll also pray for your reconciliation. I lost my only sibling in 2007, on Thanksgiving day. This time of the year always makes me a little sad. And when I hear about siblings not talking to one another, it’s heartbreaking. I wish I could tell your brother how much I wish I still had a sibling. I’m alone and lonely sometimes, eventhough I have plenty family and friends, I’m still alone. I would move Heaven and Earth to have her back.
    I wish I could tell him that.

  3. I am so sorry for your brother and his wife and especially his children. Our families are spread far and wide these days, but family is still family. Maybe remembering the good times all of you had at the wedding will prompt him to get in touch.

Leave a Reply

