Home » Uncategorized » What’s in a Name?

What’s in a Name?

Faithful reader Damon Z wants to know the story behind my tag: “Nerd Girl.”

Umm . . . I wish I had an interesting, exciting, witty story to tell, but sadly, I don’t. I did consider making one up, but decided against it – not that I’m above making up/embellishing a story – I just am not feeling my creative mojo right now.

I am the oldest of four children, and the only girl. Basically, my brothers felt as though my tendencies towards obedience and compliance made it rough on them growing up – I didn’t/don’t drink, smoke, stay out late, break curfew (I was so damn compliant, I didn’t have a curfew because my parents KNEW I wasn’t going anywhere), party, and the list goes on . . . So they bestowed the name “Nerd Girl” on me, and I ran with it. I like to think of it as a term of endearment.

So Damon – I am called Nerd Girl simply because that is what I am. I’m not a thick eyeglass wearing (well, they’re not that thick anyway), pocket protector posessing, high-water pants wearing, no social skills nerd i.e., Steve Urkel, but I’m still a nerd. See below:

“Nerd, as a stereotypical or archetypal designation, refers to somebody who pursues intellectual interests at the expense of skills that are useful in a social setting, such as communication, fashion, or physical fitness.”Wikipedia

However, according to this test I am not a true nerd – but really, we already kind of knew that anyway. Didn’t we?

I am nerdier than 32% of all people. Are you nerdier? Click here to find out!

Leave a Reply

