Home » Uncategorized » We’re your dreamgirls . . . .

We’re your dreamgirls . . . .

“I’m not the dream that you’ve had before, I’m the dream that’ll give you more and more.”

Okay, so maybe you’ve figured it out by now. I saw Dreamgirls on Sunday. And thoroughly enjoyed it. Much to my surprise. I’m not a big fan of musicals, or of the entity that is “Beyonce,” but I thought the movie was pretty good. Smoochy could tell I was a little burnt out and handled Lovegirl by himself all Sunday afternoon. I went to Tar-jhay. Alone. I went to the mall. Alone. I went to the movies. Alone. Is it a coincidence that alone and bliss are both 5 letter words? I think not.

I think on Saturday Smoochy and I are going to get a sitter and go see Stomp the Yard. There we’ll be, two mid-30’s type folks reminiscing about our good ‘ol college days at a HBCU – can’t wait! If we actually make it to the movie, I will have seen more current movies in the last two weeks than I’ve seen in the last two years. The last time I went to the movies I saw I Ro*bot. Sad, I know.

I don’t generally make resolutions for the new year – especially since I started my list – but if pressed to ask what mine is for this year, I guess it would be to watch less “mindless” TV. I’ve noticed that I just turn the TV on for the sake of having it on, and before I know it, the evening is gone and I haven’t done half of what I need or want to do. So, I’ve decided that I won’t just sit around watching TV anymore. If there’s something specific on that I want to watch – Grey’s Anatomy, CSI, Miami Ink – no problem, but to just turn the TV on and look for something – not so cool. It’s a harder habit to break than I would’ve initially thought.

My first “no TV task” will be to read “On Beauty” by Zadie Smith. I’m embarassed to say that the book has been in my posession for about a year and I haven’t even cracked it open – darn TV!

One of my new coworkers asked me this morning if I worked out. I was like “yeah, why?” She said she could tell! How awesome is that — for somone I just met to tell me that I look like I work out and take good care of myself. I still have a long way to go, but that was definitely a welcome compliment.

Speaking of long way to go – swim suits are already on the racks. Aaargh! We’re planning a short “whole family” vacation – parents, kids, brothers, girlfriends, etc. – for this summer and I’m determined to not have to wear a cover-up this year. (I probably still will ’cause I’m generally pretty modest, but still, a Nerd Girl likes to have options . . . ) Anyhoo, I stripped down to my skivvies yesterday to assess the bod and I was pleasantly surprised – my thighs have definitely slimmed down and my post-baby pooch (how long do I get to use that excuse anyhow?) is not as big as it was. I’m definitely going to up my ab workout – you know, from hardly ever to sometimes – and just maintain with everything else.

What else . . . oh yes, that pesky third person. I don’t know if this is “normal” or not, but Lovegirl has started referring to herself in the third person, and it is alternately hilarious and irritating. “Lovegirl willl pick up the toys now.” “Lovegirl is sleepy and ready for a nap.” “Lovegirl would like some lunch.” Umm, okay “Lovegirl” – how about the ever popular “I?”

One last thing – anybody heard any good “new” music lately? And by new, I don’t necessarily mean recently released. I just need new music and don’t know where to turn. Anybody listening to anything really good right about now?

Mmkay, that’s it for now. Hope the New Year is off to a good start for all – I’ve been really bad about updating here and reading you all, but now that I’m turning the TV off I should be caught up soon.

Peace!

5 thoughts on “We’re your dreamgirls . . . .

  1. About On Beauty: it’s s-l-o-w at the beginning, but if you can make it through the first 100 pages, you’ll thank yourself for your persistence. It’s a great book.

    My friend Njoke and I had a dialogue about the book here:
    http://hubpages.com/hub/On_Beauty_Zadie_Smith

    Don’t read it yet! Has spoilers. But we’d love to have your comments in the discussion once you’ve read the book.

    Thanks!
    Jason

  2. Jason — I’ll definitely head your way when I finish and let you know what I thought. I’ve heard great things about it. Thanks for the heads up on the first few pages — I usually give a book about 30, but I’ll make an exception this go ’round.

    Thanks for the comment!

  3. For music- try pandora.com just sign up, type in the name of a musician you like and it will find similar streams. I’ve also discovered a bunch of artists (way late by the way) using the new napster. Wish I had more specific offerings to give you but my current tastes are running more towards jazz so don’t know that those names would help with much.

  4. You’re so lucky to get that afternoon alone. That’s a dream right there, Tarzhay, the mall and a movie? Alone??

    I can’t wait to see Dream Girls and pray the musical interludes won’t annoy me too much. Can’t WAIT to see Stomp the Yard, being an HBCU alum myself. By the way, I knew a Smoochy from the AUC…that’s not your hubby is it?? Not personally, it was a friend of a friend.:)

    Right now, I’m listening to John Legend’s second album and Corinne Bailey Rae. Not new exactly, but new to me. This mommy thing still has me month behind. Hopefully those months won’t become years. LOL

    Happy New Year!:)

  5. @ Yolanda — I’ll definitely be trying that site out. Thanks.

    @ Mrs. J — I can’t lie – it was delightful!

    Different Smoochy. Just a nickname I gave him when he complained – after we’d been together for oh, 12 years – that I never called him by a petname. Alrightie then . . .

    If you find a way to stay current, let me know!

Leave a Reply

