Happy Birthday Smoochy!

Happy Birthday Beloved! I don’t talk about Smoochy that much here, but since today is his birthday (the big 3-5, no less) I thought I’d reflect for a moment on the man that I am blessed to have as my husband and the history of us.

  • We have been together for 13 1/2 years; married for almost 8 (May 22). Wow. We’re old-timers!
  • We met in Pharmacology class. He asked for my notes since he’d been late to a few classes because of two-a-days. Silly me — I thought he actually wanted my notes.
  • He was a football player. Offensive lineman. I did NOT date jocks. Until I met him.
  • For the first few months we “dated, ” we never went anywhere. He’d come over to my house after football practice, we’d watch TV, he’d fall asleep, I’d wake him up, he’d walk back to the dorms. Romantic huh? I finally told him that if he couldn’t stay awake long enough to take me somewhere I was moving on. Our first hey-we’re-leaving-the-house date was to the movies. We saw “Carlito’s Way.” Ahh, young romance.
  • The first car I remember him having was a big, old, blue Cadillac. I think that thing must’ve been 40 feet long. The second car I remember him having was a big, old, green Cadillac. The last Cadillac he had was back in . . . 2001, 2002. It was big, old, and gold. I refused to ride in it.
  • I love carnivals/fairs and the tamer rides that are to be had. The Ferris Wheel, the Swings, etc. Smoochy rode them the entire time we were dating. He was scared out of his mind. I only found that out after we were married. He hasn’t ridden since we said “I do.”
  • We got engaged in 1997, married in my parent’s backyard in 1999, honeymooned in Las Vegas.
  • My husband is a very loving, even-tempered kind of guy. His patience never ceases to amaze me.
  • He’s got common sense. He’s very good with people. Most people automatically like him.
  • I love him. I think he loves me more.
  • He didn’t travel that much growing up, wasn’t exposed to a lot of “cultural” type stuff — but likes “going” now, and wants to make sure that Lovegirl has all types of opportunities that he didn’t have.
  • His steadiness provides much needed balance in our lives. He’s calming. Steadying. He doesn’t worry about much of anything. That mostly good – sometimes, not so much.
  • I never, ever, thought I was the marrying kind. Until he proposed.

“Love is patient; love is kind and envies no one.

Love is never boastful, nor conceited, nor rude; never selfish, not quick to take offense.

There is nothing love cannot face; there is no limit to its faith, its hope, and endurance.

In a word, there are three things that last forever: faith, hope, and love; but the greatest of them all is love.”

I Corinthians

Happy Birthday Smoochy. I love you, and I know that in return, I am loved.