Home » Books » Bookworm

Bookworm

Ooooh. I found this meme over at Raising the Bean and I just had to do it! I love to read and while I let my books go for quite a while after having Lovegirl, I’m slowly finding my way back to them.

If you’re a reader, feel free to drop me a comment and let me know what you’ve read that you particulary enjoyed/disliked. And if you’re not a reader – hey, I don’t sign these posts Nerd Girl for naught! : )

Hardback or trade paperback or mass market paperback? Ummm, I don’t even know the difference (between the two paperbacks, duh) but I prefer paperbacks.
Amazon or brick and mortar? Brick and mortar, no doubt. I love small, independent bookstores. Sadly, they are few and far between.
Barnes & Noble or Borders? Barnes and Noble. I go to Borders more often though – it is closer.
Bookmark or dogear? Neither. I just close the book and hope my mental faculties are strong enough for me to remember where I was. Usually they’re not.
Alphabetize by author or alphabetize by title or random? Ordered randomness. Generally I group by author. If I only have one book by a particular author, then they’re by size.
Keep, throw away, or sell? I keep my favorites and those to be read. I bought three bookcases when we moved in our home and have vowed that my “library” is not allowed to exceed the 18 shelves I’ve allotted it.
Keep dustjacket or toss it? Most definitely keep. Hardback books cost too much to throw any part of them away!
Read with dustjacket or remove it? Remove.
Short story or novel? Novel
Favorite Collection (short stories by same author)? I don’t read many collections. I guess J California Cooper.
Stop reading when tired or at chapter breaks? When I fall asleep.
“It was a dark and stormy night” or “Once upon a time”? Dark and stormy.
Cliff hanger or tidy ending? Tidy ending. What is the point of my reading 2, 3, 500 pages only to be thorougly confused at the end?? And there are a few authors that I believe owe me a refund due to their silly cliff hanger endings!
Morning reading, afternoon reading or nighttime reading? Night.
Stand-alone or series? Stand alone
Favorite series? James Patterson novel’s featuring Detective Alex Cross.
Favorite children’s book? Ootah’s lucky day. It’s about an Eskimo boy who harpoons a whale. Hmmm . . . guess the late 70’s/early 80’s wasn’t a time of political correctness.
Favorite book of which nobody else has heard? ‘Sippi by John Oliver Killens.
Favorite books read last year? I don’t remember anything as a standout last year.
Favorite books? ‘Sippi – John Killens, Color Purple – Alice Walker, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings – Maya Angelou, The Secret Life of Bees – Sue Monk Kidd, The Bible – God
Least favorite book read last year? Size 12 is not Fat (loved the title though)
What are you reading now? Some people, some other place – J California Cooper
What are you reading next? Absence of Justice. It’s by Millicent Hodge. We’re way-down-the-line cousins. I think it is a murder mystery. I hope it’s good.

Leave a Reply

