Home » Mi Familia Loca » There’s No Place Like Home

There’s No Place Like Home

The cruise was awesome! We all had a great time, it was wonderful spending time with my family and Lovegirl will never be the same. I am back, I am extremely sunburned (and yes, I did use sunblock), and I am already trying to figure out when and where our next vacation will be. I’ll post a few pictures later.

  • My parents bought me a new camera! Whoo-hoo! I’d been trying to figure out whether or not I should buy a new one – wanted one, didn’t necessarily need one. And since our budget is seriously tight . . Anyhoo, I’d mentioned that I was thinking about selling my old one on eBay or something because I wanted a sleeker one. And my parents surprised me with a new one the night before we left. How awesome is that? Exactly the size I wanted and since I’m basically a point and click type photographer, it’s fine with me. I know it is a Nikon, but honestly, that’s all I know. Works great though. It’s an early, and much appreciated, Christmas present. Have I mentioned how much I love mis padres?
  • I went parasailing! Something I’ve always wanted to do and I’m so glad that I went. I got a little nauseated on the boat ride out, but once I was gliding above that beautiful, beautiful Carribean? It was all good. I saw flying fish, a few rays, and numerous unidentifiable fish. It was awesome! If you’ve never done it, I highly recommend it – not scary at all. I was nervous about losing my camera, so I didn’t take it up with me, but in retrospect, of course, I wish I had. I still didn’t snorkel, but I’m definitely snorkeling next time I’m in such beautiful surroundings.
  • Lovegirl had a ball. I could not believe what a good time she was having, though I really should’ve known. She swam, she partied, she did the Cupid Shuffle. She conned her way out of the ship’s childcare center. That’s right, I’m raising a con artist – I decided on the last day of the cruise to drop her off so that Smoochy and I could just chill. We’d taken turns watching her the whole trip. After a kiss and a goodbye, I headed up to play Scattegories. About 35 or 40 minutes later, I got a page from the daycare. I ran down a level expecting a screaming, crying, somehow injured Lovegirl. Nope. There she was – huge grin on her face. I asked the daycare lady what was up. “Oh, she said she was “very, very hungry” and needed to eat right now and we don’t serve them food.” Umm lady, this kid has been eating since we got on the boat. The one thing I’m sure she’s not is hungry! But I collected her and away we went. Do I need to mention that she didn’t eat a thing?
  • I’ve probably gained at least 5 pounds. Food, food, and more food. All. The. Time. We ate the buffet quite a lot as it was easier than getting Lovegirl coralled, properly dressed and to the formal dining room. The standouts though were definitely from the formal dining room – a cream of mango soup that was really good and a lobster tail/shrimp dinner that was heavenly. I’ll be trying to replicate the mango soup in the next few days – I’m guessing pureed mango, cream, ginger and vanilla bean. I’ll let you know.

I guess that’s it for now. I’m back at work. Well, I’m back at my desk. In my mind, I’m still reclined on a lounger by the pool enjoying the Carribean sun.

Peace

4 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. I was just wondering how your trip went. I came by to see if you had returned, and to my surprise you have. I’m so glad to hear you had an awesome trip. Thanks for sharing details.

  2. I am so happy to see that you all had a blast. I just HAD to look at the cupid shuffle…you can find EVERYTHING on youtube. I cannot wait to see the pictures 🙂

  3. thanks for getting on my bandwagon over at nikki’s spot. i had no idea people didn’t like children at sporting events! how old is your little one? mine just turned 3.

  4. Traci & Niknak – it really was awesome. I didn’t realize how badly we needed that vacation until we went! Hope that you all have some good times planned with your families this summer as well.

    Summer – who knew? Again, I totally feel her on the movies, but in a big loud arena or coliseum? Anyhoo, my girl is working towards three – she’ll get there in September. And she really does LOVE football! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

