Home » Lovegirl » 1st in Class

1st in Class

alphabet.jpg 

Lovegirl’s birthday is September 8.  This means that she is – and will always be – one of the oldest in her class. 

My concern is that during her preschool years, she will be “on target” as far as her class is concerned, but behind agewise.  For example, her classmates are learning the alphabet and practicing their counting.  Ummm, she mastered that over a year ago.  I realize that repetition is great, but have decided that from here out, school will be used as a review, and her learning will be done after school.  At home.  With me.  That’s right, I’m joining the ranks of those who “afterschool.” Afterschooling is exactly what it sounds like – additional schooling done after school hours.  I always knew I’d be doing this, but thought it would come later – you know, when I found her history classes lacking.  But apparently, the time is now.

Now, I’ve always worked with her, I think I’m just going to have to step it up a notch.  I will not try to teach her the pythagorean theorm or explain photosynthesis, but we will definitely be working on letter and number recogntion, counting units, etc. 

I’ve made her some flash cards while at work today, so we’ll start with those – maybe do a letter of the week type deal, and then move on to numbers.  After that?  I’m not sure.

So, for you seasoned parents/aunties/uncles/teachers out there, I’ve got a few questions.

Do you supplement what your child is taught in school?  Do you homeschool? Is your routine structured or are you more laid back?  Do you make up your curriculum or subscribe to a certain packaged curriculum?  What “should” a three year old know?

Thanks in advance for any help/comments/suggestions you can provide.

5 thoughts on “1st in Class

  1. My son is in the 5th grade and math has long been his best subject. But last year he seemed to have a bit of trouble. So, this year the hubby decided to give our son additional math work every night. He goes over both the work our son does in the classroom and the additional work.

    I generally work with our son over the summer. Generally, my emphasis is on shoring up his knowledge of African American history. We also do a bit of math and work on his writing/language arts skills with age/grade appropriate texts that we pick up from places like Target or Walmart.

    No, neither of us are teachers. But we both feel learning is an on-going, never-ending process. Also, I think we’re pretty committed to supplementing our son’s school work until he reaches college. Poor kid. If only he knew . . . (smile)

  2. Hey NerdGirl! I’m just stopping through and checking out your space.

    My mom was a teacher, she was made for it….seriously. One thing she did, with me especially, was to also make sure she reinforced what I had learned that day. She knew I was a rather stubborn mule when it came to school. During test time, she made at home test for me based on the material to be certain that I had my facts down pat.

    It’s never too young to start teaching kids new things, especially while their young so go ahead and throw a little photosynthesis lesson in the mix. 🙂

  3. Fortunately, my boys are in a school that offers differentiated instruction because not every child is on the same level. At my son’s elementary school, the students are tested to see where they are academically and then they are given books and lessons to accommodate them. My son is really good in math so he will work out of a fourth or fifth grade book, etc. The areas where he is weak I do use supplements.

    Is Lovegirl reading? If not, there is a good book for her age called Teach your child to read in 100 easy lessons. I will be using this book for Mademoiselle when she turns two and a half. I also own Reading Revolution, which is how my second son learned to read. It too is a wonderful tool to teach little ones to read.

    Also check out, Alycia over at The Power of One. She blogs about afterschooling. I’ve gotten some really good ideas from her.

    Good luck, and three is not too young. My oldest son knew the entire alphabet by sight in order and out of order by one and a half. He used to be in love with letters. He would spell out signs every where we went. His ability to articulate his thoughts and formulate sentences at that age freak some people out and amazed others.

  4. Thanks all for the helpful tips and suggestions. I’ll defintiely be trolling the aisles at Target and Walmart for supplements and picking up the 100 lessons book. Best wishes as you continue to work with your children and their educational process!

    Thanks for stopping in AR Gal!

  5. We homeschooled for pre-k and used the http://letteroftheweek.com/ curriculum as a guide for learning. http://www.starfall.com is great for phonics, and we used handwriting without tears to work on his handwriting because most schools simply don’t have time to focus on writing like they did when we were growing up. Also just reading books together is always wonderful for so many skills.

    The key thing at this age is to provide her a foundation for loving to learn. Do lessons but also work on things like gross motor skills- cutting with scissors, using glue, etc. and she will blossom and thrive. We view the education of our children as a partnership with teachers- while they do learn in school we devote equal time to learning and reading at home. Good luck and let us know if you come across any good resources that work well for Lovegirl.

Leave a Reply

