Home » Life In General » Al Green Knew What He Was Talking About

Al Green Knew What He Was Talking About

Yesterday I went to divorce court with a friend for her initial hearing.  I was there to testify on her behalf regarding her parenting skills since both she and her husband would like custody of their children.  I never got to testify.

The lawyers talked, each conferred with their clients, the lawyers spoke again, all parties went into the courtroom, told the judge what they’d decided and a temporary ruling was made.  I won’t go into details, because they’re not really mine to go into.

In the 2 or 3 hours that we spent in the lobby, I heard a number of conversations ranging from allegations of child abuse to neglecting of “wifely duties” to who should get the flat-screen TV and which computer was worth fighting for.  These conversations flowed steadily as people waited for a judge to divvy up their life’s possessions.

There, but for the grace of God, go I.  After I left the courthouse, emotionally drained and more jaded than when I went in, all I wanted to do was call Smoochy and tell him that we are NOT getting a divorce.  Ever.  So I did. 

Smoochy told me that he’d never contemplated divorce, so it must’ve been on my mind.  He completely missed the point.  I wasn’t comtemplating getting a divorce, I was voicing my expectations that we would not get a divorce.  Of course, this isn’t a free act-a-fool card for either Smoochy or myself.  I just don’t ever want to go through that – shuttling Lovegirl back and forth, fighting for tchotkes just for fighting’s sake, alleging untruths in the hopes that I would be favored over him, and the list goes on.  I’d never really thought about divorce and its repercussions until yesterday afternoon.  I hope it is something I never have to think about again, especially as it relates to our marriage.

I’m tired y’all.

“Let’s, let’s stay together
Loving you whether, whether
Times are good or bad, happy or sad.”

 

 

4 thoughts on “Al Green Knew What He Was Talking About

  1. Nothing like good ole divorce court to make you wanna hum a little Al Green, huh? (LOL) I’ve witnessed several divorces involving friends and relatives. It’s never pretty and often brings out the absolute worst in folks. At least your friend had you to lean on. *Oh, yeah, some of those old tunes by Bill Withers are good for shaking the Blues too. *(smile)

  2. Lori – It really was all I could do NOT to break into song right there in the courtroom! I hadn’t even thought about venturing into Bill Withers territory – it was all Al, all the time at that moment!!

    Keith – My parents are together, and hopefully always will be. I would not wish that mess on my worst enemy – and I can’t stand her! Here’s to forever!

    1969- I love it! Ours was “At Last,” but after having been engaged for 25 months, what choice but that song did we have? 🙂

Leave a Reply

