Home » Life In General » TGIM – I Need the Rest!

TGIM – I Need the Rest!

Busy (for me) weekend.

Saturday

  • Off to the gym for a quick 30 minute work-out on the torture device exercise equipment of my choice – the crosstrainer I think?
  • Grocery shopped.
  • I cooked for the week.  This week’s menu:  enchiladas (thanks for the idea PSerendipity!), spanish rice, refried beans, spinach salad, turkey meatballs, saffron rice, mixed veggies, “jerk” chicken, green beans, banana bread.
  • Mopped, swept, cleaned bathrooms, vaccuumed.
  • Repotted my entryway plants.
  • Continued my one-woman war against backyard bamboo – cut down all the new sproutings that I could while keeping an eye on Lovegirl, who wisely decided to “read” in the shade while I toiled in the surprisingly warm spring sun.
  • Gave myself a manicure and pedicure – pale beige on my fingers, pale shimmery pink on my toes.
  • Watched parts of a basketball game or two.
  • Crashed in the middle of what I thought was going to be a good game.  Was it?

Sunday

  • Didn’t go to church.  Again.  This week I’m going to try a 10:00 service.  I’ve been so adamant about only going to 8:00 service, but I think it was getting to be too much, I’m going to try a later service and see what happens.
  • Cleaned some more – laundry, a little dusting, cleaned out the dog’s crate, aired the house out, shredded a ton of paper – only 2 or 3 more tons to go!
  • Went to a birthday party/cookout for a famiy friend’s grandmother.
  • Dropped Smoochy off at the truck depot (?)
  • Raced home, ironed clothes, prepped new babysitter, went to dinner with some friends to celebrate one’s birthday – I drank. 
  • I guess I’m going to have to stop telling people I don’t drink – I’ve ingested more liquor (3 drinks in 6 months) in the last 1/2 a year than in the previous, oh 10 years or so.  I had some kind of martini – all I know is that it was blue, and it was good.
  • Drove babysitter halfway home – I felt a little illegal passing her off to her mom at a gas station, but oh well . . .
  • Crashed.
8 thoughts on “TGIM – I Need the Rest!

  1. I feel you on the 8:00 service. It’s hard to get up and get there, but oh so worth it. you have the rest of the day to do whatever you want AND you’ve already got your praise on. 10:00 service in my neck of the woods mean church isn’t over until 2-ish. been there, hope to never go there again, LOL!

  2. I’m glad your blue martini turned out better than mine. I paid $6.50 for something called a “Bikini Martini” that tasted like rubbing alcohol.

  3. @ dmac – For a while, we were really rolling and making 8:00 service on time weekly, but when we slip – we slip! Thankfully there is another service at 11:30, so I have no “in church until 2” fears, though I know exactly where you’re coming from! So this week, if we don’t make it to 8, we will be there for the 10. (Hope I don’t have to eat those words . . . .)

    @ Sandy – The drink really was good – which for me basically means it was fruity and I couldn’t taste the liquor. I think I paid $7.50 which is more than I paid for my meal! Drinking is a habit I can’t afford to acquire.

  4. Sounds like you had a busy but fun time. Good for you having a drinky drink with friends and getting that babysitter! I’m with you on not being able to afford to be a lush lol 🙂

  5. That’s what happened to me! I paid $5 for a pile of blue corn chips and a vat of queso dip, but $6.50 for the drink. Liquor is ridiculously overinflated.

  6. @ Psonya – Yes ma’am, they were. I think next time I’ll add a little more heat to mine, but I will definitely be keeping these in the rotation. Thanks again!

    @ Yolanda – Much, much needed – I plan on getting out a little more often, especially now that I’ve got a few reliable babysitters to call on. Again, with our finances, no worries about my needing an AA sponsor any time soon!

    @ Sandy – I can’t believe that some people have drinks regularly with the prices being as high as they are – I’m going to have to stick to play dates in the park over juice boxes 🙂

    @ Los Angelista – I keep everything in the refrigerator and just reheat whatever we’re going to have that night. The three meals I cook each weekend serve as lunches for me and dinners for Lovegirl and myself. I don’t cook super-huge quantities, since Smoochy is only eating at home once, maybe twice a week. The amount that I cook usually gets us through lunch, sometimes dinner on Thursday. After that, its either sandwiches or a meal out. This system has worked quite well for me – let’s me go to the gym and run errands during the week without freaking out because I need to get home and cook. We eat much healthier this way.

Leave a Reply

