Home » Food » Dollar, dollar bills y’all

Dollar, dollar bills y’all

Questions. 

1.  Do any of you garden – fruits, veggies, herbs?  I am seriously considering growing something to help save on our grocery bill.  The problem is, I don’t know what.  I don’t really want to plant rows of anything – just a little container gardening.  Any hints, tips or suggestions?

2.  Any healthy, cheap recipes you’re willing to share?  I know beans, soups and stews are all relatively inexpensive, and we’ll be eating plenty of those during the fall and winter, but what’s good for summer time?  I’m trying to make sure our meals are balanced and offer variety.

3.  What are you doing to combat the rising price of everything? 

Please, do share!  Thanks in advance.

5 thoughts on “Dollar, dollar bills y’all

  1. 1. no garden but i thought about it. i think i may have to start using coupons.
    2. i will have to see what i have on the recipes. i have been trying to put my crockpot to use this summer.
    3. cutting back on eating out and bringing lunch to work.

  2. I, unfortunately don’t have an answer for 1 or 2. I really need to look into 2 though. I may steal these questions and post to my blog, because inquiring minds want to know. 🙂

    As far as three… I work a second job and I don’t drive a car, so my transportation costs are approximately $75 a month for an unlimited bus/train pass on the CTA in Chicago. I take an occasional cab here and there, but most of those are covered by the job and if not, I’d say maybe $20-30 max.

    My original decision to not have a car was due to convenience, but give the rising costs of gas and car maintenance, being car free has turned out to be quite a financial blessing.

    (I know that’s not an option for most people who don’t have public transportation systems in their cities and for people who have kids, but that’s what works for me right now). 🙂

  3. i would LOVE to have a garden…i just can’t right now. i do have herbs tho cuz you can grow them almost anywhere. i love sweet basil and mint the most. anyhoo, good luck with whatever you decide to do!

  4. Lita – Let me know if you do anything garden wise. I am seriously considering a few rows in the backyard – one row each of corn, okra, and collard greens. Maybe some black eyed peas while I’m at it. I haven’t had much success w/coupons – I can never find coupons for stuff we actually use!

    T – Right about now I wish we lived in a major city with decent public transportation! I would love to spend under $200 to get around for the month! I am looking into some sort of part time gig I can do from home in the evenings once my kiddo is in bed. Please do post these questions – I’d love to hear from more folks.

    PCD – I probably need to start small with herbs and then work my way up to the bigger stuff! I’d love to have my own stash of cilantro – love it!

  5. For the garden check out “square foot gardening” by mel bartholomew.

    for cost saving meals check out “cuisine economique” by jacques pepin and/or “cheap, fast, good” by beverly mills and alicia ross.

Leave a Reply

