Home » Food » Capish?

Capish?

My grandmother used to tell me there was nothing like a little understanding.  The older I get, the more I agree.

Here are some things that I wish people could/would understand:

  1. I don’t want to be in the job I’m currently in.  Stop asking me why I’m working as an Administrative Assistant.  I do it because we’ve got a child to provide for, bills to pay, and other grown-folk obligations.  I have been looking for a job for almost 2 years.  Don’t you think if I’d gotten a better offer by now, I’d be ghost?!?
  2. I am not going to buy a new car to get better gas mileage.  A new car = a new car note.  I am almost done paying for my truck.  Anything I’d save by buying a more gas efficient car would be canceled out by a car note.  What I am going to do is save my duckets and pay cash for a used, gas efficient vehicle.
  3. I locked my hair because I wanted to.  I wish I had some deeper philosophical answer for you, that I could wax poetic about embracing my roots, bucking the system, becoming one with my follicles.  But really, I wanted to, so I did.  Some of that other stuff does come into play, but if you ask me this question, my answer is going to be “because I wanted to.”  Now if you really want to discuss hair, that’s cool, I’m game.  But if the sole purpose of your asking is so that you can tell me, “I would never do that to my hair,” you will get the aforementioned answer.  And I can tell the difference between true curiosity and b.s.
  4. I don’t want any pork.  Or beef.  I do know what I’m missing.  Pork and beef.  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with eating either of them, truth be told.  Most things, in moderation, are okay.  I just don’t eat them.  No matter how many ribs you wave in my face, how many sausage patties you think I should be consuming – it’s not happening.  Spend your time and energy on other pursuits.

Thank you for allowing me to vent.  I may be a little grouchy today, no?

7 thoughts on “Capish?

  1. I’m with you on #4, I don’t go around dissing anyone because they choose to eat beef and pork, but don’t try to entice me with a rib, steak, or pork chop either. I have no interest and waving the meat in front of my face is just gross.

  2. Hi there,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s always nice to know that someone “out there” is actually reading it 🙂 Can’t wait to read through some of your posts….oh, and I can relate to the locks. I had natural hair for about 6 years- and everyone assumed that it was some sign of rebellion against mainstream beauty standards. I just loved the way it looked and not having to pay $100 for a relaxer.
    “read you” around,
    Alycia

  3. Hmph, and I guess we heeeerd dat! For real, though. You know if you buy a car you could get better gas mileage. Oh, and we’re gonna have a pork and beef barbeque over the weekend. You comin’? Wassup?

  4. @ Mango Mama – I know right? I don’t knock anyone else’s diet choices, can I please get a little respect for mine?

    @ Alycia – I was glad to find you and look forward to continuing to read about your adventures with your daughters. I will definitely be using some of the resources and materials you suggest.

    @ Psonya – You got jokes! Nice meeting you. Aidan is a sweetie – I need lessons on how to get a 3 year old to be that quiet and still for two hours! My girl likes to talk – a lot!!

  5. Hello there. 🙂

    Really liked this post (not that I don’t like all of them), and I totally understand your adversions to the food. Some people are just ignorant.

    Speaking of, um, what does that mean “locking your hair?”

Leave a Reply

