Home » Life In General » Get a Job!

Get a Job!

You know how “they” say when you want something that you should put it out there – write it down, tell people, tell God?  Well that’s what I’m doing. 

I am Nerd Girl.  I was fired from my previous job by a boss who was wacko.  I have a B.S. in Biology and a M.P.H. with a concentration in Environmental and Occupational Health.  I am currently working as an Administrative Assistant – a job for which I am grateful, but which bores me to no end.  This is my current reality.

I want a new job.  I would like to do something in the advocacy arena.  If public health is involved, lovely, if not, perhaps something in the education arena.  I am a great project manager.  I enjoy traveling for my job, and would relish a position that would allow for a little travel – not too much since I’m playing “married single mom” right now.  I have experience doing presentations to both small and large groups.  I’ve worked with a wide variety of constituencies from college presidents to day laborers on small farms in the Arkansas Delta.  I have experience grant writing, producing and publishing newsletters, conducting college tours, reconciling budgets, tracking cohorts – I’ve done a little bit of everything.

My name is Nerd Girl, there’s a job out there with my name on it, and I am ready for it.

I’ll let you know when I get it.

10 thoughts on “Get a Job!

  1. I feel your pain. I am embarking on completing my Master’s in project management and have yet to have find a position out there for me. I have a background in business management and don’t know a thing about IT. If you find an answer or direction, please let me know! I guess here’s to the both of us, searching for the golden key to the executives’ bathroom.

  2. I’m going to do this too! I have my little notes everywhere writing down my dreams. I keep my scriptures in my financial ledger and written on my chalkboard at home. I tell God all the time but I chicken out when it comes to telling other people. Often times other people are so discouraging it makes me want to keep my dreams a secret because they might not happen. Now I’m realizing that if God said he will do it, then He will. We will get both of our hearts desires Nerd Girl! Keep the faith and thanks for the encouragement.

  3. This is an excellent idea. Another blogger, Antithesis, did this and found a job. Someone will read it and know someone, etc.

    My question is… what is a “married single mom?”

  4. I wish you all the best luck! The jobs are out there; I have seen them. 🙂

    (Just don’t ask me where exactly-I haven’t the slightest)

    🙂

  5. All – Thank you so much for your encouragment and support. I appreciate it more than words can express. The blogosphere has truly put me in contact with a wonderful group of people – I am blessed.

    @ T – “Married single mom” is what I call myself since my husband is a truck driver and is only home on Saturdays and Sundays. I’m married, but there are definitely days when I feel like a single mother!

  6. Praying for you to land the job of your dreams. Very inspirational, I need to get myself into gear on several things so I can start living my dreams instead of just dreaming about them.

  7. Keep telling people and putting it out there. Eventually, you will get the job that you want. I am living proof of this. I kept telling people over and over of how I wanted to work in a particular industry for years and it finally happened. Not saying that it will take years, but it will come. Good luck!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

