Home » Rants » Excuse Me In Advance

Excuse Me In Advance

This is my blog and I’ll curse if I want to.  And today, I really really want to.

If you’ve been reading, you may know that I don’t like my current job.  I’m overqualified, underpaid, and bored.  I’m back in school for my second masters to hopefully improve my hireability (whatever).

My boss is crazy.  If you’ve been reading for a while you know that too.

Anyhoo, I work for a hospital associated with a major university.  Enter the tuition waiver.  I can take two free classes a semester with my tuition waiver.  Yippee.

I started taking classes towards a masters in higher education administration this fall.  I’m taking my last final for this semester in a few minutes.

I also need to use education leave hours because one of my classes starts (330) before my work day ends (400).  I leave at 230 so I can pick up my kid, drop her at the sitter, and be in class by 330.  That means once a week – on Fridays – I leave an hour and a half early.

Bitch boss has decided she is no longer going to sign off on educational leave requests because they “interfere with productivity.”  What the F?!?  It’s 90 minutes a week.  Hell, I’ll skip lunch 3x a week if you think it is that big a deal.  Not to mention that this dumb cow goes to class 2x a week, but since she’s the supervisor I guess she can do what the hell she wants.  Have I mentioned she’s sleeping with the boss?  Yeah, she is.  And that’s not just gossip.

So, I decide to go to our boss – you know, her boyfriend – and see what’s up with the denial of the education leave.  With this being an educational facility and all, they are supposed to encourage us to get as much education as we can.  Well this joker starts giving me some bullshit about a tuition waiver costing the department and he’ll need to check with the office manager (aforementioned bitch boss) to see if it is in the budget for me to go to school.

WHAT THE HELL??????????

I’m not talking about a tuition waiver.  Those are GUARANTEED by board policy – all university employees are allowed 6 hours a semester.  You may be a big dog, but you don’t freaking write board policy.  Dumbass.  I’m talking about my 90 minutes of educational leave that your girlfriend says she’s going to deny from here on out.

I am pissed.  I am so freaking pissed.  Why is this heifer so petty?  She makes upwards of 90 grand a year.  With a high school diploma and some college credits.  I have more formal education in my little finger.  But really, I’m not mad about that (well, I am, but that’s not the point).  Why would she be so trifling as to tell me I can’t go to school.  She is just mean.  Downright mean.  There is no earthly reason for her to meddle in my shit.  None. 

I am really trying to be all mild mannered and sweet and Christian, but I really, really want to kick her ass.  I’ve never had a fight in my whole life, but if I ever catch her in an alley my hoops are coming off and I’m going to start swinging.

AAAAAAAAARRRRRRGHHHHH!

8 thoughts on “Excuse Me In Advance

  1. I hope you get everything worked out. That is crazy.

    You know, the Board of Regents are changing somethings (if the school is in that group) so I hope you are able to keep things the way they are.

    Also, could you go above the dude? To his boss?

  2. Sounds like she is intimidated by you. You’re already overqualified and could probably do her job better than she can, add to that another degree and there won’t be denying this fact. I hope it all works out for you.

  3. I’ve worked for colleges and universities for a long time and if anyone interfered with my taking courses…. I would go NUTZ if I were you. Wait a minute, you ARE going nuts. FIGHT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. I found you off a Rantings of a Creole Princess and I really like it! I’m sorry about the work issue, I feel ya!

    Doesn’t it burn you a little when you see injustice/inequality.

    I agree Fight it.

Leave a Reply

