Home » Life In General » Free, Free, Set Them Free

Free, Free, Set Them Free

I’m pretty sure S.ting and the P.olice were not talking about me!  However. . .

My seven favorite words:  “Honey, do you want some free time?”

Duh!

Right after Lovegirl was born, and for about 2 years after that, I thought I was being unnecessarily selfish when I asked for “me time.”  You know, that time you spend doing nothing except for what gives you pleasure in that moment.  No little person pulling on your shirt asking you to sing a song, watch N.oggin with her, or make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich without jelly.  No husband asking what’s for dinner or if the light bill has been paid.  Just you and . . . whatever.

Guilt, be gone!  I now cherish the time I am able to spend just focusing on self.  And by focus on self, I don’t mean anything constructive like learning Latin or organizing closets.  I mean sitting at B.orders with an overpriced cup of coffee, flipping through magazine after magazine.  Wandering the aisles of T.arget looking at cute “stuff” that I don’t need and won’t be buying.  Sitting in a movie theatre watching the latest blockbuster movie.  Surfing the ‘net and catching up on the lives of various and sundry folks.  Taking hours to give myself a proper pedicure.  Making a necklace I may never wear.  Just chillaxin’ all by my lonesome.  Nothing like it in the world!

I’ve got Ladies’ Night Out with my friends, and every once in a while the gang from work will go out – and while I enjoy this time with others, to me nothing beats quality time with me.  I crave this down time.  I require this down time.  I refuse to feel guilty about it and honestly look forward to a time in my life when I’ll have more of it.

Do you get “me” time?  How do you spend it?  If you don’t, why?  Are you going to start?

2 thoughts on “Free, Free, Set Them Free

  1. I spend my me time at the grocery store or target. Since food makes me smile I creep through the aisles picking up everything and then go to the next store and do the same thing! I also stalk TJMaxx (like 2-3 times a week) for shoes. Since we don’t have kids yet, I don’t require much me time, if I turn on something he doesn’t want to watch I’m pretty much guaranteed me time!

  2. I always have “me” time. I probably have more “me” time than I’d like considering I don’t have many friends and zero family (besides my husband of course) here in NY. I do enjoy curling up on the couch reading a magazine or surfing the Net during my “me” time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

