Home » What U Got On? » You Better Work!

You Better Work!

Combine a rather cool summer (lately anyhow) with an onslaught of back-to-school sales and Mississippi’s first tax free shopping weekend and what do you get?  A Nerd Girl who’s itching to make some much-needed additions to her wardrobe, of course.

Now, y’all already know that I’m no fashionista.  I do find, that as I get older, I am more concerned with the way I look – no need to be old and tacky.  I really used to not give a darn – I blame it on my casual CA upbringing – y’all dress in the South!  If forced to pick a style, I lean more toward classics.  I have neither the funds nor the inclination to replace my wardrobe every year. 

Anyhoo, I’ve decided to add a few sweaters – mostly cardigans – to my closet this year.  I only recently began wearing sweaters (I know, right?) and realize that they’re a great way to add color and variety to my wardrobe.  A couple of new necklaces, a few new camisoles,  and a strappy belt or two and I should be good to go. 

Here are a few I’ve got my eye on:

swtr1           swtr2        swtr3           swtr4

Are you “freshening up” your wardrobe for the fall and winter?  What, if anything, are you adding to your stash?

I think this is my last post for the month.  Stay tuned in August – I think I’m going to do a couple of give-aways just because!

Hope everyone has a wonderfully blessed day 🙂

14 thoughts on “You Better Work!

    • I am taking a few hours off on Friday to hit Northpark and hopefully get stuff for both Lovegirl and myself. I’m hoping to beat the weekend rush on Saturday, but already know I’m probably kidding myself….

  1. I love sweaters. Dont plan on updating my fall/winter wadrobe with any new purchases since I hit the clearance racks in February and bought fall/winter gear at that time. However, Dillard’s is having a 40% off clearance sale. Would be worth a look-see if u have a store in your area.

  2. I really like those sweaters. I freshen up my wardrobe every other week whenever inspiration hits. When I run out of room, I go through, give things away and start all over again. I don’t think we have a tax break week in MD.

    • Every other week? Ooooh, I’m telling The Count! LOL! I basically wear the same pairs of black, brown, and tan pants – I’m hoping the sweaters will help add a little color and oomph!

  3. I’m broke phi broke, and I really have no idea why. I think it’s becaues I’m not using credit cards (or using them sparingly). I never really realized how much I depended on those bad boys. Whatev, thank God for deliverance from that.

    So all that to say, there will be no refreshing. I’ll be in here straight re-mixing my closet though. LOL!

  4. I am considering this a need and not a want – I dont have any cardigans in my closet – so yes I will be adding more to my closet . I also need more work appropriate blouses .

  5. j’adore embellished sweaters & cardies!! j’adore!! those are cute! i’m def. more toward classic with some flare. i love bright colors. i just got all excited talking about someone else’s possible shopping. lol

    • They have the cutest lightweight, short-sleeved cardigans that you can buy matching/coordinated flower pins for at New York & Co., but they’re full price – as soon as those bad boys go on sale, I’m picking up the one in olive green.

  6. I don’t know if you shop at target, but I have bought numerous cardigans there, especially the argyle ones! Uh, I will be working from home so technically all I need is yoga pants and wife beaters, but I’ve convinced myself I need a HOT pair of black sling backs. Not your average ones, but some with a kick… That’s about all I NEED.. 🙂

    • Do I shop in Target….girl, I would live in Target if I could. And I’m only exaggerating slightly. I haven’t had much luck with the sweaters I buy there though – they seem to become a big pile of fluff after I wash them – do you send yours to the cleaners? Do tell…

      You will be mighty fierce with your yoga pants, wife beaters, and sling backs! I’m sure you’ll find them – and put them to good use when you do!

      • I’m a fan of Target for their argyle sweaters as well. I just put them in the gentle cycle and hang dry. I’ve not had any problems.

        I like the pics on the bottom…especially the mustard cardi.

Leave a Reply

