Home » From Me to You » Give It Away, Give It Away, Give It Away Now

Give It Away, Give It Away, Give It Away Now

Yeah, yeah, I know that July is over and so should be the songs-for-titles posts.  Indulge me (and my love of the Red Hot Chili Peppers!).

I find myself in the mood to have a few give-aways and figured that August was as good a month as any. 

So, check back every Monday Tuesday week in August for a little something.  Emphasis on little – hey, it’s not like I have a sponsor. 

This week’s giveaway is a fabulous little coffee table book: Queens: Portraits of Black Women and their Fabulous Hair.  I love my copy and thought I’d share the love.

 Queens

If you’re interested in winning a copy of your very own, please leave me a comment telling me how you wear your hair now and why you chose that style.  Your comment can be two words or dissertation-length – either way is good with me.  A winner will be chosen using random.com on Sunday and announced Monday (or Tuesday) morning.  You have until midnight Saturday to enter.  U.S. entries only please.  Muchas gracias and good luck!

14 thoughts on “Give It Away, Give It Away, Give It Away Now

  1. I have been relaxer -free for 5 years. Some days I wear it straight or sometimes its pulled back in a pony tail. My mood determines how I choose to wear my hair.

  2. Right now I have my hair in braids. I chose to wear braids because I am currently transitioning and it is in a really not cute stage. Since I don’t use direct heat on my hair, I can’t straighten the roots which left 2 totally different textures in my hair. I’m not ready to cut the relaxed ends off yet because my head is too big to have short hair. By the way, you don’t have to use random.com, you can just pick me and tell everybody you used it, I won’t tell.

  3. My hair is currently in short braids since I am transitioning to natural hair. Its been a year and 2 months since I had a relaxer.I love the feel of the natural curl between my fingers, and I can hold my head up high like a true African queen.

  4. Well shizzam, looks like I’m the only lady that still rocks the “Just for Me’ (j/k…well not about the perm just about the brand).

    Anywho, my hair is short (longer on the sides and layered in the back).

    • LOL! Do you know I thought you were natural? And I’m so ashamed to tell you that it is because of your avatar!! Of course I know that’s not you, but I’ve just always pictured you rocking a ‘fro. Yeah, I’m special. I know.

  5. Right now I’m wearing my hair relaxed. It’s cut into layers and kinda boring honestly. I really want to cut it into a cute bob but I have a goal in mind. I am attempting to build my wealth and plan to be debt free by Jan 2010 and I decided that I wouldn’t cut my hair until then.

  6. Hey giveaways! Gotta love free stuff especially during the recession.

    I wear my hair natural (which to me means relaxer-free). The texture is RIGHT in between kinky afro and curly ringlets. It’s like kinky ringlets, LOL! When I’m with my bff who wears an afro, people always comment on her “natural” hair and then I get the pouty face like hey, I’m natural too.

    She told me they probably think I have a straw set or something. People always ask me how I get my hair to look like it does: straw set? twist-out? braid-out? I’m like uh… water and gel… LOL!

    Anyway, that seems like a great book and if I don’t win, I’ll have to add it to my Amazon wishlist.

  7. About 6 weeks ago, I cut my short, relaxed hair into an almost bald natural. I had a female barber shave it and I absolutely love it. It’s about 2 inches long with little teeny curls. I was worried that I wouldn’t look as feminine, but I actually feel “prettier” than ever. Ironic. I no longer need to wait for hours at the salon, nor spend $110 a month to maintain my relaxed cut. I chose to cut it because I wanted a change and thought this would be the best style to help me maintain my goal of working out 5/6 days a week.

  8. I started my locks in December because after now 6 years without a perm (then 5.5) I was finally ready. I’d been putting it off forever because i wasn’t ready for the commitment. It is certainly that and as ridiculous as it always sounded to me, it definitely is a process to let your hair do it’s thing with minimal interference. I like it but I’m pretty sure I won’t have locks forever.

  9. I currently wear my hair cut short and tapered in the back. Have been wearing it short since I was in the 10th grade. Have had many other styles also, but I just prefer to wear it short, and maybe just a tad longer in the winter.

Leave a Reply

