Home » Fitness » Move It, Move It, Move It! Day 3

Move It, Move It, Move It! Day 3

Seriously – move it!  Too often we say we don’t have time to exercise, we’re too busy, our schedules are too full.  Okay, keep playing.  Your health will suffer for it.

When my schedule is particularly full and hectic, instead of bemoaning the fact that I can’t spend 90 minutes in the gym, I find ways to “sneak” my exercise in.

  • Get to steppin’!  Park farther away from your place of employment than you have to.  I park in a stadium and cross the street to get to the hospital.  Lately?  I deliberately do not turn into the first parking space I see – I pass several parking spaces and count the few extra steps as exercise.
  • Push it!  Do a quick set of pushups when you stumble out of bed in the morning.  It doesn’t take much time to knock out a set before you hop in the shower. 
  • And lift!  Been sitting at your desk all day?  Stand up, stand behind your chair and get in 3 sets of 15 standing leg lifts.  Use the back of chair for support and just lift your leg behind you slowly and controlled.  Good for your tush.
  • Stairway to heaven!  Bypass the elevator and take the stairs.   Even if you can’t take the stairs all the way up to whatever floor you work on, try to add a flight a week – pretty soon, you’ll be wondering why elevators were even invented.  Good for your quads and backside.
  • Walk it out!  When the weather is particularly lovely – as it is now – I will spend the first – or last – 15 minutes of my lunch hour walking.  It takes about 10-15 minutes to stroll around the entire hospital campus.  I change into flat shoes or tennis, turn my MP3 player on and get to going.  I don’t walk hard or fast enough to work up a sweat, but I do move at a brisk pace. 
  • Work it out!  Pserendipity often goes to the gym during her lunch hour.  That is not an option for me, but if it is for you – you can get your workout in early and not have to worry about it at the end of the day.

Anyhoo, the whole point is to get it in when and where you can.  If you don’t have time before or after work, do your best to get your physical activity in during your work day.

Any tips to add?  Be well!

One thought on “Move It, Move It, Move It! Day 3

  1. I try to walk at lunchtime too. I got sidetracked today by a HEALTH fair…stood in line to get a health screening but then I noticed that the pizza line was moving a lot faster, so I got pizza instead. In my defense, I did get a veggie slice.

Leave a Reply

