Home » Food » Lunchtime Adventures of Nerd Girl and her Sidekick Lovegirl

Lunchtime Adventures of Nerd Girl and her Sidekick Lovegirl

It is the last day of Spring Break, the sitter is closed,  and Lovegirl is at work with me today.  I have accomplished sooooo much.  Not!  (Of course it is not totally Lovegirl’s fault, but hey, it sounds good)   🙂

For lunch I had the brilliant idea of riding the trolley car over to Brent’s Drugtore for a good old-fashioned soda fountain lunch.  Coolio.  The trolley pulled up in front of the hospital and Lovegirl about flipped.  She was so excited!  Score one for me and my brilliant idea!  We went in, sat at the counter*, ordered and ate our lunch and went back outside to wait for the trolley to come back.  And we waited.  And waited. And waited.  All while watching a presumably homeless man dig through a trashcan for food.  He’d find something he liked, take a bite and keep digging.  I offered him Lovegirl’s cheeseburger (I think she took 2 bites).  He graciously accepted.  And then threw it away!  Did I just get dissed by a homeless dude?  Anyway, I finally decided that I was tired of simultaneously waiting for the trolley, keeping an eye on the homeless gentleman in the trash and watching Lovegirl count rocks.  So  I decided to get some hitch in my step and that we would walk back to work.  So we did.  It only took about 15 minutes.  And of course the trolley rolled by just as we were turning into the hospital.  Oh well – we got to stretch our legs, admire the lovely spring day and count all the green cars we saw on the walk back – 3 if you care.  And 3 if you don’t.  Which, I totally don’t blame you for.

Anyhoo, that’s how we spent out lunch hour – a grand time was had by all!

*As a total aside?  Not to knock the choices of those who paved the way for the rest of us, but I think I would’ve fought for something other than the right to consume a greasy turkey sandwich.  Or maybe not…..

Tomorrow if the weather holds out, we’re heading downtown to celebrate our irish heritage by watching the St. Paddy’s Parade with 40 thousand of our dearest friends!  Sunday we absolutely must go to church – we’ve been absent for about a month – and then if we’re not exhausted we’re going to a show choir thingie at a friend’s church Sunday evening.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family and friends.  Be well!

3 thoughts on “Lunchtime Adventures of Nerd Girl and her Sidekick Lovegirl

  1. dead @ think I would’ve fought for something other than the right to consume a greasy turkey sandwich.

    That trolley sounds like a cool idea, too bad it didn’t show back up to pick you up.

    For real, homeless dude. You gon’ be picky? I bet if you offered him crack, he wouldn’t have thrown that away.

Leave a Reply

