Home » Food » Like Lentils? You’ll Love This Soup!

Like Lentils? You’ll Love This Soup!

I had red lentil soup for the first time a few months ago and was hooked!  I bought a measure of red lentils the next week and last night got around to making the soup. So easy, so good!  Lovegirl and I had it with a grilled cheese sandwich, but you could easily build a heartier meal around this delicious, cheap soup.

1 cup of red lentils

1/2 an onion, finely chopped

a dash of olive oil

3 1/2 cups of broth – chicken or veggie, whichever you prefer

pepper

cumin

I diced the onion, sauteed it in a bit of olive oil until softened.  Added the broth, the lentils and simmered until the lentils softened and fell apart.  I added pepper and cumin to taste and that was it.  OMG.  I’m in love with a soup.  The recipes I found online suggested finishing the soup with a bit of lemon juice, but I didn’t have any, so I didn’t.  Next time, I’ll give it a try.  I didn’t think it needed any salt because of the broth, your taste buds may beg to differ.

The whole deal took maybe 30 minutes total.  It is healthy, quick, and cheap.  Next time I’ll serve it over steamed rice with veggies on the side for a full meal and see if Smoochy will eat it.

Let me know if you try it and what you think – I’m buying more lentils today – this is definitely going to be a go-to recipe for me!  I can see adding chicken or shrimp to it…the possibilities are endless.

4 thoughts on “Like Lentils? You’ll Love This Soup!

  1. I’ve only had canned lentil soup and I loved it! This is definitely a recipe I plan to try.

    So you don’t have to soak lentils???

    • Soooo good! Nope, no need to soak. A lot of recipes call for pureeing the soup once it is cooked, but I left it a little chunky – I may puree next time. Hope you like! Oh, the above only made about three servings…adjust as you need to.

Leave a Reply

