Home » Life In General » Yo Mama!

Yo Mama!

Y’all remember the Chipmunk?  Yeah, the one that puts food in the bathroom, buts into all our conversations, eavesdrops, and makes Alvin sound like a baritone.  Her.

What I may not have mentioned is that she is my work-friend’s mother.  J and I worked together in Hell and as poorly treated employees are wont to do, we formed a bond that has lasted through both our transfers to other departments.  Until.  She called one day to say that her mama was interviewing for the administrative assistant position in my department.  All I said was cool.  We interviewed 4 candidates and we were asked to rank them.  Her mama was #3 on my list.  #1 on everyone else’s.  We hired her much to everyone’s eventual chagrin.  She is overqualified and does a good job.  And is one of the most annoying people I have ever met.  Seriously.  I cannot think of anyone who is as consistently irritating to a group of people on a regular basis.  Except K.anye West, but that’s a topic for another day.

Anyhoo, since her mama has started working here, I have not called J once.  She’s called me a few times and will repeat something negative her mom has said about my other office mates.  Um, I like them, I don’t like your mama.  So I don’t say anything.  Of course, she hasn’t called in a long, long time.

I would love to be able to say that I am all light and bubbly with her mom, but really?  I am not.  I speak.  I answer questions, but that’s about it.  I do not engage her in conversation.  I don’t make small talk, etc., etc.  I’m sure her mom’s said something along the lines of “that damn Nerd Girl is awful…I don’t know why y’all are friends.”

I had a point, but now can’t remember what it was.  Seems to be happening a lot lately.  So I guess I’ll stop here.  Have  y’all ever had a similar situation??

3 thoughts on “Yo Mama!

Leave a Reply

