Home » Fitness » Joy and Pain

Joy and Pain

So, a couple of weeks back I blogged about reaching my highest weight ever (except for when I was gestating).  Well, I was wrong – that wasn’t my highest weight ever.  I jumped on the scale on Monday knowing that my exercising and eating right was surely going to be reflected by the numbers on the scale.  183.  Do what?  I have gained 3 pounds.  Sigh.

Anyhoo, I already know that I’ve got to stay encouraged, continue to get my exercise on, make wise food choices and eventually – eventually – the weight will fall off.  If it could fall off oh say before I go home for Christmas that’d be phenomenal!

In addition to my cardio work at the gym – which is now almost $30 a month cheaper thanks to a hospital-employee discount whoo hoo – I am back on the 100 pushup challenge.  I started Monday and my shoulders are definitely feeling the burn.  Next week I am adding the 200 squat challenge to my regimen so that my quads and glutes can get in on the action.

So although I’m not where I want to be weight wise, there is joy in knowing that I’m working toward my goal.  Joy in the fact that I’m saving $360 a year in gym membership fees.  And joy in knowing that when I look good I feel good. 

In case anyone is interested in challenging themselves, the pushups and squats challenges – along with others – can be found here:  http://hundredpushups.com/

Be well!

5 thoughts on “Joy and Pain

    • Clearly you don’t have to answer that but that is a SIGNIFICANT savings! Maybe you can use that money for IDK something fun… hint hint nudge nudge SPEND IT ON YOURSELF FOR ONCE…. !!!!!!

  1. I fell off of my sit ups challenge- again. At least this time I know why. But I will be walking for at least 30 minutes a day at least 6 days per week for the next year.

Leave a Reply

