Home » Life In General » #Epicfail

#Epicfail

Last night, the tornado sirens went off and woke me up.  So, did I do what common sense, experience, and all matter of meterologists would have me do?  Did I immediately take my small child downstairs where we would be safe, avoid windows and stay tuned for more in-depth doppler radar reports?  No sir, no ma’am I did not.

When I woke up to the sounds of the sirens I laid in bed for about 5 minutes trying to figure out what that sound was.  Then I picked up the phone and called Pserendipity to ask her “do you hear that?  What’s that sound?”    I think she hit mute on her television and then confirmed that those were indeed tornado sirens I was hearing.  So then I laid there for another few minutes while thoughts like “ugh, I should get up or something” ran through my mind.  I finally got up and took Lovegirl downstairs and threw lovingly placed her on the couch.  I sat in my chair for a few minutes and then decided that I was not properly dressed for a tornado.  If my roof should be ripped off and I found myself standing in the middle of the street I thought perhaps I should be wearing more than a tank top and my drizzawls.

So I went back upstairs and put on some jeans, a long sleeved tshirt and some socks.  Then I decided that I’d rather have on my UAPB tshirt as opposed to my JSU tshirt.  So I changed shirts.  And went back downstairs where Lovegirl was still knocked out.  I snuggled into my chair and then thought that I should go get my purse in case a tornado jumped off.  I mean, I’d need i.d. and my debit card, right?  So I went back upstairs and got my purse and phone charger (???).  I settled back into my chair and started laughing remembering the time our house caught on fire and my grandma went back inside to get her purse.  Then I called my Mom – the quintessential night owl – so she could keep me company as I waited out the storm.  She was sleep.  She mumbled something about calling me back later to check on us.  Yeah, I’m still waiting for that concerned call.

Anyhoo, after a few episodes of the Golden Girls and more doppler radar information that I knew how to use I decided at about 1:30 a.m. that all was clear and I could get in the bed and get some sleep.  And so I did.  Until 3:30 when my eyes popped open and I watched infomercials until 5.  When I promptly fell asleep.  Only to be awakened at 5:01 by my alarm clock.

And how was your Monday night???

10 thoughts on “#Epicfail

  1. I slept pretty well for the first time in about a week. Maybe it was the rain or not taking a late evening nap for once. Otherwise it was a typical Monday night for me full of wrestling and cartoons. LOL.

    Glad it wasn’t too big a deal and everyone is okay.

  2. My house was built in 2000. So you know if a tornado came through my house would blow away like Dorothy’s in the Wizard of Oz! When we get a warning or watch I put on a sweat suit and sneakers. The first creak I hear, I’m in the basement!!

    Glad it was just a watch for you all. My Monday night was totally uneventful.

  3. Geez that sounds scary! My heart started beating fast as I read this! I get scared easily. I’m glad that nothing happened but lost sleep, even though that sucked!

  4. I think I despise tornado sirens more than the actual tornado. I’ll probably change my mind if one hits close to home. The sound is one of the most scariest things in the world to me. Glad you and Lovegirl made it through.

  5. All that back and forth of changing clothes, you have got to be pretty tired today.
    I guess I was sleeping too hard last night to hear the sirens. I heard the rain as it begin to get heavy at time, but didn’t hear not one siren. Thank goodness. I would have been messed up this morning if anything had come.

  6. Happy you guys are ok and that nothing came of the alert. I am definitely not mad at you for grabbing your purse and putting on appropriate clothes. That IS a part of emergency preparedness, shoot. My night was more of the same – 2 hrs of sleep, a few episodes of Boardwalk Empire and 30 mins of dozing before the alarm rang.

Leave a Reply

