Home » Life In General » I’m Baaack!

I’m Baaack!

Y’all!  I had such a loverly vacation.  Alas, like all good things it had to come to an end, so here I am back at work.  Sigh.  But, I’m thankful to have a job, so I won’t complain!

Christmas in Cali was good, real good.  We had a few moments of family drama, but that’s par for the course!  The biggest issue?  My oldest brother making us all late for church…yeah, we get it in.

Anyhoo, three out of the four of us were home.  I was especially excited that Lovegirl got to play with her cousins – they all seemed to have a good time and Lovegirl and my nephew are particularly smitten with each other.  It was great for them to have that time together.  I am definitely planning to hit the road to Houston more often – it makes no sense for us not to see them more frequently.

We hit the Aquarium of the Pacific, Mountain High for a snow day, and more shops in between than I am willing to discuss!  My middle brother’s girlfriend is a shopper like you would not believe!  She puts all shoppers I know to shame.  I didn’t buy much – a tank top from The Rack and a jacket from Ross.  That’s it.  Packing carry on luggage is definitely good for the wallet!

My parents treated me to a mani, pedi and Thai massage for one of my Christmas gifts.  Have mercy!  If you have never had a Thai massage might I suggest you get one post haste?  The masseuse walks on your back, kneads you with her elbows and knees and pushes and pulls you into a loose relaxed puddle.  It hurt.  And it felt good.  And I’m definitely putting Thai massage on my list of things to do when I’m home.

Smoochy got me an iPod Touch.  I didn’t even know what the thing was.  I sent P a text message and was like “I’m not sure I want this…”  Yeah, a few downloaded books and games of Words with Friends later and I am hooked!  All I wanted was a nano to help me get back in the workout swing of things.  I’m so glad Smoochy went above and beyond.  If you want to play WWF, I play as….get ready….Nerdgirlms

Lovegirl was the recipient of all things noisy this year – a Paper Jamz guitar and a karaoke machine.  She is loving them and the various and sundry dolls, plastic toys and pajamas she received.

Right about the time we were tiring of fun in all the non-existent California sun, it was time to come home.  We came back on Saturday night, I washed clothes and my hair last night, and today here we both are at my j-o-b.  I’d like to send a special shout out to the geniuses who decided that the kids don’t go back to school until Wednesday…

Pictures you say?  If you insist: 

 

Anyhow, that about wraps it up.  How was your Christmas?  New Years?

I lied. One more thing.  On New Year’s Eve my parents, Lovegirl, and I ended up at the home of their pastor where we played charades.  Everyone was asked to choose one television show, one song, and one movie for others to guess – men v women.  When it was one lady’s turn she looked dazed and confused.  She didn’t know which of the categories her clue fell into.  So all the men came up to see if the clue was theirs and to help her out.  It ended up being my father’s.  It was a song.  Which song you ask?  So glad you did.  For his song my father chose…get your mind right for this one…”From Cairo to Benghazi”  o_O

Okay, now I’m done!

30 thoughts on “I’m Baaack!

      • There is no reply option on your reply to me for some reason. Yep, from Claremont/Rancho. You tagged your brother in some pics- I didn’t know him but I knew the name from Claremont High.

      • It is indeed a small world! There are four of us, so yeah, if you’re from the area chances are you went to school with or know somebody who went to school with one of us. We had CHS covered from the mid 80’s to the early 2000’s!

    • Puhleeze! She didn’t even try to mime that clue. She threw it away and I don’t blame her!

      The snow was marvelous! At least for the adults – we all had on ski jackets and pants. The poor chirren had to make do in regular coats/clothes. Oops.

  1. Yay for good vacations!! I think I would very much like an ipod touch but I can’t justify it since I don’t do anything with the nano or shuffle I own. ”From Cairo to Benghazi”?!?! Da heezy???

    • Then that joker had nerve to try and explain that it was a 1972 Stan Getz, Chick Corea compilation…yada, yada, yada. Dude! You couldn’t have just picked “My Girl???”

      (It wasn’t really those artists but God knows I have no idea who he said it was!)

    • I ended up actually liking the girl who braided it this time and my mini-me was quite thrilled with her hair. And walked up to random strangers in random airports asking them if they liked her hair as much as she did. Oh, she’s modest…

      We had a blast!

  2. Oh what fun!!! Thanks for sharing the pictures. Looks like you all had a blast! Your dad is hilarious! Talk about stumping people! I love LG she’s the greatest! Another person able to play the WwF’s!! LOL! This dang BB Hmph!

    • Girl, hilarious does not begin to do the man justice 🙂
      Yeah, a good time was had by all – Lovegirl especially. See, I thought I wanted a BB, but now? Neva!

  3. Looks like ya’ll had a great time. Lovegirl’s hair was really cute. And those pics make me want to go to the aquarium stat- maybe Ill grab the little cousins and go( so that I dont look like an overgrown kid at the aquarium lol)

    • Go ‘head and let that inner child out! I think the adults had as much, if not more, fun than the kids. Ahem. I would tell her you like her hair, but if her head gets any more swole…so I’ll just say thank you!

  4. Super duper late, but I loved the family holiday pics! Glad you had a great time. 😀 I might have to start a WWF game with you if you’re not too busy with the games you’ve already started, lol.

Leave a Reply

