Home » Life In General » Snowy Day Randoms. Minus the Snow.

Snowy Day Randoms. Minus the Snow.

  • You may or may not have heard about the wintry weather we were supposed to get here in Mississippi over the course of the weekend…those of us in central Mississippi got nada.  Yeah, okay, there are icicles hanging off my house, but that’s about it.  I thought we were gonna be snowed in with something pretty to look at.  Instead, the kid is out of school with a bad case of cabin fever and all I wanna do is curl up with a hot cup of tea and a good book.  Instead, I’m washing bedclothes, blogging, and thinking about vacuuming while she stands outside staring at icicles, hoping for snow.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Although I took the Christmas tree down last week, Smoochy still hasn’t moved the decorations back into the garage.  Which gave me a moment to consider my favorite Christmas tree ornaments.  Wanna see ’em?  Of course you do!  I bought the football player  the first year we were married to represent Smoochy.  Never mind the fact that dude is obviously a receiver and Smoochy was a guard…The fish we bought from a little store on the boardwalk in Kemah, Texas.  We had so much fun that trip!  I bought the African dude at Union Station in D.C.  I smile every time I hang him on the tree.  The little dreadlocked angel reminds me of my Mom.  I originally bought it for her but loved it so much I went back and got myself one.  And the ornament on the end?  Snowmen made from Lovegirl’s fingerprints.  Too cute!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • Saturday Lovegirl and I made some garlic knots which turned out pretty well.  They were way bigger than I thought – they more then doubled during their second rising – and ended up being buns as opposed to rolls.  But they tasted good and we’ve eaten almost all of them.  I’ll definitely be making these again.  I found the recipe on foodgawker.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • This last picture has nothing to do with anything.  Just a picture my brother took of me while we were in Long Beach over Christmas.  It makes me laugh though – see how busy I am posing while paying my child who is “trying” to get to the water absolutely no attention?  Mother of the year I tell ya!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyhoo, stay warm and dry wherever you may be.  I’m off to vacuum a room or two.  And maybe even tackle the monstrosity that is Lovegirl’s bookshelf.  Wish me luck!

 

7 thoughts on “Snowy Day Randoms. Minus the Snow.

  1. LOLOL @ Lovegirl standing outside staring at icicles, hoping for snow! Hilariously apt description of that picture! It’s currently snowing. I hope the frozen rain predicted stays away. I love Christmas decorations. I can’t bring myself to take ours down…

  2. Y’all got nothing?!?! Boo! So why is school out?

    LOL @ the picture of LoveGirl! I think I see a pout.

    We got snow but the streets are now clear (so thankful for that by the way because I don’t know how much more I could have taken listening to Billie Bob four-wheel up and down the street like he was doing last night……and last year). I’m guessing the interstate is as well so I suppose we’ll be back at work tomorrow.

  3. Awww…I’m sorry that Lovegirl didn’t get any snow. She looks so ready 😦 lol

    Trust me there is much more Winter ahead of us, there will be more chances! *sigh*

    No real snow here in the DMV…yet!!

  4. Poor Lovegirl, she looks so hopeful.

    And yes, I totally knew that your ornament was a reciever. You know that is Aidan’s favorite, he looks for it on your Christmas tree every year.

  5. I can’t believe there was no school and no snow. Sounds like life here in Virginia. We had the same thing (no snow, just small amounts of freezing rain). and school was cancelled-which I’m ALWAYS happy about. I could pretend to be a homeschooler.

  6. No snow came for the baby? Aww! Well, my mom and dad got 33″ over the weekend and more is set for this weekend. I’ll have them send you some. 😉

    Next time you come to LA, you better let me know so I can say hi!

Leave a Reply

