Home » Blogroll » Book Club

Book Club

Alrightie y’all – it’s that time again – virtual book club.

Our next book will be:  The Warmth of Other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson and was suggested by Tiffany of  The Unemployed Bride. 

Looks like a good – and lengthy – read, so let’s say we meet back here on Monday, April 11 to discuss. Oops.  In the post where I first mentioned doing a book club, I said our next book would be discussed in May.  So, how about Monday, May 2? 

Goaldigger suggested “A Piece of Cake.”  I read a synopsis and thought it would be too heavy for me.  But I realize that everything’s not about me.  So, I’m going to put it to a vote at the end of this entry.  Majority rules – and I won’t vote.  Cool?  Cool.

Also, I’m creating a new category over there on the right – Book Club.  Oh, I’m all about the clever.  That way, if you’re not one of my regular readers (gasp) and just come over to read and discuss, you don’t have to scroll through bunches of stuff to get to the Book Club books. 

I hope everyone has a great weekend.  I’ll be running around getting Lovegirl ready for a wedding (we are not “doing” her hair this go ’round), attending said wedding, whipping up something fabulous (I hope) for Smoochy’s birthday on Sunday, and trying to find some time in there to wash, retwist, and curl my hair. 

Now, please…rock the vote:

9 thoughts on “Book Club

  1. Pingback: Virtual Book Club: Round 2 « No longer unemployed, no longer a bride…

  2. I read ‘A Piece of Cake’ already. It was pretty good but I want to read something new. Also, you forgot to mention in your post that you’re counting down the days until I’m back in the Sip!

  3. I’m a little confused. Is the next book definitely ‘The Warmth of Other Suns or are we voting to decide on the next book?

    • I am also confused….are we reading “The Warmth of Other Suns” and discussing in May and then deciding if the third book we read is “A Piece of Cake”?

      • Sorry y’all. We are definitely reading and then discussing The Warmth of Other Suns on May 2.

        The poll re: Piece of Cake is for our next discussion in July.

        That’s what I get for trying to type and post an entry with a quickness 🙂

  4. Just discovered your blog via MamaSez… (don’t ask how I never discovered it through Monica’s site)…and I’ve been actually looking for a book club, so I’m super excited, and can’t wait to participate!

Leave a Reply

