Home » Books » Wherein Nerd Girl Rambles Like a Rose…

Wherein Nerd Girl Rambles Like a Rose…

Sigh.

I bought a scale last night.  And was crazy enough to get on it.  I weigh 179.2 pounds.  Giving me a BMI of 25.7.  I am officially overweight.  So, I’m going to try to lose …20 pounds.  Dear. God.  I looked around on these here internets and according to them I “should” weigh around 153. 

I’m not going to go nuts and eat only cabbage soup or wear garbage bags to lose the weight.  I’m going to eat less, choose my foods more wisely, and move more.  This week I’ve resolved not to eat anything that didn’t come from the perimeter of the grocery store – dairy, meat, veggies.  So far, so good.

I guess this should take me about 5 months?

* * * * *

I’ve been feeling very listless lately and I realized that I feel better when I am working toward something.  And I haven’t been really been working toward anything  since I finished my degree.  Last summer.  Oops.  I’m not looking for anything as major as another degree right now, but I’m going to spend some time being quiet so that I can figure out what my next “to do” will be.  And how to make it work within the confines of my budget and schedule.

* * * * *

How short a dress is too short for work?  I was going to try to add 2 or 3 dresses to my spring/summer wardrobe but everything I’ve been trying on seems mighty darn short to me.   They’re at least a few inches above my knees.  Is that appropriate??  Any suggestions?

* * * * *

One of my graduating students brought me some roti her mom made and a silk clutch from India.  Another stopped in to tell me how much she appreciates all the help I’ve given her over the last two years.  I got all verklepmt y’all.  It’s nice to be appreciated.

* * * * *

The department chair is on our hall today.  I only know this because they keep sending emails and whispering this.  Um, I don’t care. 

* * * * *

Special shout out to TIH who got me hooked on Tess Gerritsen’s books which I’ve been reading like there’s no tomorrow.  They’re good, fast paced reads which just happen to be crime thrillers.  I’ve checked out so many from the libary I’m probably on somebody’s watch list…

* * * * *

Speaking of the library, I’m waiting for somebody to finish “Warmth of Other Suns” so I can get started on it.  Has anyone started yet??

* * * * *

I’ve got to go.  It’s time for my lunchtime walk.  Peace.

8 thoughts on “Wherein Nerd Girl Rambles Like a Rose…

  1. My trainer basically told me to be active and feel fit and not worry about evil scales and numbers! I think you can pull off garbage bag chic! I go crazy if I’m not working on anything. I’m so glad people are recognizing your awesomeness! That’s so sweet! I’m also waiting for someone to finish the book at the library!! 3 inches above the knee is about the max.

  2. Are the dresses you’re trying on for tall folk? If not then yeah they’re gonna seem really short. My workplace is very casual but I try not to wear anything that’s more than an inch and a half above my knees. Have you tried the dress on oldnavy in the tall section? They truly are longer than average.

  3. It seems like hemlines have gotten really short lately. I feel like every dress shows thighs and surprise.
    Hooray for roti! I love it.
    I haven’t started the book yet…I forgot we were supposed to be reading it and have been reading “In Her Shoes” instead.

  4. I’m in education and I swear I can relate to the excitement people would have when the chair or any renowned Prof. would be around. I was so not affected. They are just people who’ve accomplished some stuff just like I’m trying to. 🙂
    Kudos on being recognized/appreciated by the students. It makes the position worth it…

  5. I think you are taking the right approach to weight loss. Just get active and eat right and you’ll be there before you know it.

    I know you are tall so I guess dresses can be a challenge smometime. All of my work dresses come below the knee but it’s not necessarily intentional. I dont think I would totally shy away from something about an inch higher than the knee.

    It’s nice to be appreciated. I know it feels good when students come bearing gifts.

  6. The scale at my gym is such a hater. One day it’s up, the next day it’s down. It’s definitely the scale and not me. LOL! My BMI is like .9 away from being overweight. Which is absolute madness given my frame. Because I’ve been slim all my life (and know how to dress my flaws) no one notices when I gain weight and when I say I’m trying to lose it, they give me crap. Ah well, as you know I’m trying to drop 10 lbs… as soon as this scale stops hating!

Leave a Reply

