Home » Life In General » Can You Help Me, Baby Can You Help Me Out???

Can You Help Me, Baby Can You Help Me Out???

Our pastor has been doing a series on family and his most recent sermon was on disciplining children and establishing household rules.  It’s been a great series that has confirmed some things that I’ve been thinking about as it relates to the way our house is run and how Lovegirl is being raised. 

I am working on keeping the house neater/cleaner.  Smoochy is working on disciplining Lovegirl on a more regular/consistent basis.  Right now, I’m the “heavy” and would like for us to share this role – not that I won’t spank Lovegirl – I just don’t want to be the only one doing so.  Lovegirl is going to work on doing better – behaviorally – at school.

Now, this is where y’all come in.  I’d like to have a piece of artwork done (by a truly talented friend of mine) that lists, details, spells out (pick a phrase) our house rules – those things which we will adhere to because we are Christians and because we are the Ourlastnamehere family.  But um, er, I can’t think of anything!  Okay, that’s not true, I’ve thought of a few things, but I feel like I want more included. I’m not looking for a list of thou shalt nots or anything like that, just a visual reminder of the things we hold important and will strive toward on the daily.

This is what I’ve come up with so far:

Obey God’s Word
Treat Others With Kindness
Respect Ourselves and Others
Be Excellent In All Things

Um yeah, that’s it.  Do have anything like this in your home? 

What suggestions do you have for mine?  Thanks in advance!

25 thoughts on “Can You Help Me, Baby Can You Help Me Out???

  1. The only verse from the Bible that I quote to myself and my son …ALL…..THE……TIME! LOL

    To Whom Much Is Given Much Is Required.

  2. This is a great idea for a family ! I created something like this many years ago as my personal faith statement. I keep it posted in my walk in closet and reflect on it constantly.
    Some of the statements are:

    Humility before pride.
    Give to others with an open heart, advocate for those in need.
    Be a good friend who listens well.
    Slow to anger, quick to mercy.
    Become the woman that God wants me to be.

  3. Don’t start none, won’t be none. ahahaha, I kid, I kid. I’d either put the golden rule “do unto others as you’d have them do unto you” or the scripture from Ruth “Your people will be my people and your God will be my God” or the other scripture “as for me and my house, I’ll serve the Lord”

    Also, I don’t see anything on there about love. A family has to have love to survice/function, so come up with your family’s love statement and add it there.

    Great post!

  4. Aww, this is so touching! I love what you have already, too. *thinking*
    I’m all about serving others as a display of love and sacrifice, but I can’t think of any phrases off top. I is tired.

    I’ll be back!

  5. I love this! I can’t wait until you post the final version so I can steal it. Our family motto is “be the living example of Gods kindness” I’m going to have a painting of that by our front door.

  6. We have our “life rules” posted on the frig.
    It’s basically a carboard shield that I cut out and wrote the following 4 things on them- it’s so funny that you have almost an identical list.
    I think between each of them, everything is pretty much covered.

    1. Obey Immediately
    2. Be Kind
    3. Mind Your Manners
    4. Do Your Best

    We came up with the shield idea becuase we were reading a book about Hammurabi and how he came up with the first set of laws for the people and what life looked like before laws.
    We also did a little “swearing in” ceremony where Alex had to hold up her hand and promise to uphold (adults included) the family rules. Jordan is just now being introduced formally to the shield.
    If I get a chance, I’ll take a picture. I was trying to find a blog post, but I think it was in my old site that crashed…. Good luck!

  7. I know my line sister has a family creed that her family abides by. I think ours may be “Remember, as far as everyone knows, we are a perfectly normal family.”

Leave a Reply

