Home » Life In General » Twenty One Questions

Twenty One Questions

(Wherein I ramble…feel free to answer some/any/all of these questions.  Feel free to think I’m nuts…)

Has anybody ever relocated for a job?  How far did you move?  From one city to another?  Clear across country?

I wonder if I am destined to be underemployed forever?

Should I look for employment opportunities elsewhere?

My brother keeps trying to get me to apply for work with his company.  The money would be nice and I wouldn’t mind relocating to Arkansas, but bringing work home?  I honestly don’t know about that.  I’ve always been a 730-4 type of girl.  Can I change my stripes at this point in the game?

Would moving be worth it?  I’m okay being in Mississippi.  I don’t love it, I don’t hate it.  Is there a richer experience out there for us?

Is fear holding me back?

Am I “allowed” to pray and ask for more?  I always feel guilty when I ask for more.  There are so many people who make do with less.  I also know that I have not because I ask not.  Am I the only one conflicted by this?

Should I get yet another (free) masters degree?

Does anybody know how to get a grant for a PhD?

Why do I still not know what I want to do when I grow up?  Oh wait, I’m grown.  Why don’t I know what I want to do?

Has anyone ever used a headhunter?  How’d that work for you?  How did you find them?

Y’all want to critique my resume?

Can you tell that work is boring me yet again?

18 thoughts on “Twenty One Questions

  1. Yep I relocated from OH to the DC area for a job in 2007(and am getting ready to do it again in the next few months but this time I’m staying there once I get there!)

    I’m the type of person who HAS TO BE passionate about what she’s doing(whether it’s love, work, school, etc) The moment that passion starts to fade, I start not giving a flying fig and not doing/giving my best.

    That being said, I work for a GREAT employer but my position does NOT require a degree(umm I have a BA and am working on my MA). The money leaves much to be desired but I’m helping people. There is no room for advancement though. So why am I still there? Yea, that’s the reason for this relocation.

    One of the reasons I’m so excited about relocating is b/c I KNOW there are so many more opportunities not only for myself but for the kids in the DC area. Ohio is a great place to raise a family but I want to expose the kids to more and let them see some of the things out there that they would never see in OH.

    A fellow blogger and I talk every day and she knows a lot of my “stuff”. She told me last week “do not let fear paralyze you into not doing something. Yes the unknown is scary but don’t let the fear of it halt your dreams/goals”.

    It took me a long time to be able to ask for more in my prayers. Like you, I felt bad b/c it felt like I was being ungrateful for what I did have. I belive now though that it’s ok to ask for what we want/deserve in our prayers.

    Yep you should definitely get a free degree. My employer also offers free programs and I’m in one of them as well.

    When I get back to my office, I’m going to ask my boss if she knows about any grants for PhD’s.

    I have not used a headhunter yet but am thinking about getting one in assisting with this upcoming move.

    Ok, I blogged in your comments. I’m sorry! lol

  2. Yep, I moved here from the Coast to work at the MSSC.
    No.
    Yes.
    Yes.
    Yes.
    No, that’s complancency.
    Just call me greedy, then….
    If it’s free? Why not.
    No, sorry.
    It’ll come to you. Start with what you love. What is that thing you’d do for free? That’s what you’re supposed to be doing.
    No.
    Sure!
    It happens.

  3. Am I “allowed” to pray and ask for more? I always feel guilty when I ask for more. There are so many people who make do with less. I also know that I have not because I ask not. Am I the only one conflicted by this?

    No you are not the only one conflicted by this. Should I not want a house because others are homeless? Should I not want to get a promotion cause so many are unemployed. God tells us to ask for the desires of our heart. I think as long as they are not selfish or greedy desires it’s ok to say hey, I need a bit more. I pray and ask God for what I want and I do the work needed to get it. I’m not praying for a Benz or nothing, just employment that pays well enough so I can have a comfy life.

  4. Am I “allowed” to pray and ask for more? I always feel guilty when I ask for more. There are so many people who make do with less. I also know that I have not because I ask not. Am I the only one conflicted by this?

    God knows the desires of your heart. If the desire is there, He already knows it as you pray about it. I think you’re perfectly ok in asking Him how to show you to get to those desires. When God blesses, He adds no sorrow to it. So, if you’re feeling sorrow, something’s not right. He’ll help you figure it out.

  5. I think that was only 19 questions. You are not destined for mediocrity. If you want it, ask for it. I like to ask God to help me get (a job/opportunity) if it’s in His will for my life. I never feel guilty for it. Dream no small dreams. What do I look like aiming low? No ma’am! The no work at home thing is big. I wouldn’t want to give that up either! I like free degrees… but what’s the point if you don’t want it/won’t use it? I’m considering a cross country move to California.

    • Are you sure? I’m going to count again.
      I think I’ve gotten scared to dream. I feel like I am continually being shot down.
      That’s the thing – I never anticipated not using any of my degrees, it’s just worked out that way. Technically, I’m using my last degree now, but definitely not the way I intended.
      Yay for California!

    • Have I really? I didn’t realize I’d written it about it so much. Time to talk to Smoochy. I do know that I worry about uprooting us all just because I want more – how is that fair to Smoochy and Lovegirl.

      Working on my resume – will get it to you soon. Thanks much!

  6. Has anybody ever relocated for a job? How far did you move? From one city to another? Clear across country?

    Yes. Pascagoula to Phoenix.

    I wonder if I am destined to be underemployed forever?

    You most certainly are not. I do think, though if you keep getting degrees…you might not be able focus on forwarding a career. Nothing wrong with that, but school and job takes mucho effort.

    Should I look for employment opportunities elsewhere?
    Of course. Window shop.
    My brother keeps trying to get me to apply for work with his company. The money would be nice and I wouldn’t mind relocating to Arkansas, but bringing work home? I honestly don’t know about that. I’ve always been a 730-4 type of girl. Can I change my stripes at this point in the game?
    Ummm…I guess. I can gather where your brother works, but I can’t see you fitting into that culture. Just my take.
    Fear? No. Contentment maybe.
    Am I “allowed” to pray and ask for more? I always feel guilty when I ask for more. There are so many people who make do with less. I also know that I have not because I ask not. Am I the only one conflicted by this?
    No and No.
    Should I get yet another (free) masters degree?
    Only if you plan on using it in a related field.
    Does anybody know how to get a grant for a PhD?
    Sorry.
    Why do I still not know what I want to do when I grow up? Oh wait, I’m grown. Why don’t I know what I want to do?
    I think you’ve been in school so long that going to school is your job. I wish I had the fortitude to be a professional student.

    Has anyone ever used a headhunter? How’d that work for you? How did you find them?
    No, sorry.
    Y’all want to critique my resume?
    I’d imagine there are too many initials and acryonyms in there for me to make sense of it.

    Can you tell that work is boring me yet again?
    No REALLY?

    • I think if my brother can handle the corporate life, I could as well. I’m just not sure about the whole bringing work home/working on the weekends thing. I’ve always worked for state government 🙂

      I wish being a professional student paid better!

      Nope, no initials or acronyms. I think…

      Yep, for real!

      • hahah….I can so see you in the corporate culture, just not at that particular company.

        They seem to have ……issues… with color and gender being any higher than a store manager. But that’s just my personal experience.

  7. I have HUGE issues with wanting and praying for things as well. I’ve realized that allowing that type of thinking to prevail will paralyze you, so to speak, and you’ll never take a step. I am learning to pray according to the talents and skills God has blessed me with…He’s given them, as well as certain opportunities, to me for a reason. If He doesn’t think I’ll be able to handle the blessing, He won’t give it to me. At the same time, I think He wants to make use of the talents and skills He’s given me, not just in ministry but also as a way for me to make a living.

    I didn’t mean to make my comment so personal, but b/c I deal with this on a regular basis, I just wanted to share how I’ve started to approach the issue.

    • You’re so right about being paralyzed and I am trying to work my way through that. Our pastor said something in Bible study this week that really helped me – and I am trying to learn to pray that God’s will for my life be realized and that my hopes and dreams line up with His will.

      I appreciate your comment – carry on!

  8. I would love to critique your resume…you can email me privately.
    The other questions aren’t so easy to answer – but you should definitely keep praying about all of these unknowns until you receive some peace and clarity.

Leave a Reply

