Home » Life In General » Whoa, Whoa, Whoa Kemosabe

Whoa, Whoa, Whoa Kemosabe

This time of year is busy on academic campuses everywhere.  Medical education is no exception.  We’ve got new students coming in to begin their medical education, students graduating and looking forward to their residencies, and residents getting ready to go forth and conquer in their chosen field.  Lots of people moving around in preparation for their next stage of life.

One of our graduating residents is relocating to the D.C. area and is having a moving sale this weekend.  I asked her if she had any dressers for sale as I am looking for a “new” one for our guest bedroom.  She said she had two and I told her I’d swing by and take a look later on this week.

My boss overheard her and told her she wanted to look as well, particularly since she has a child heading off to college in the fall of 2012.  She mentioned needing an ironing board, coffee pot, lamps, and towels.  Y’all.  I think before my pretty-much-nonexistent filter kicked in I shouted “towels????” with a look of disgust on my face.  My boss went on to explain that yes, the daughter would need towels, she was sure the resident was clean, and that her towels would be nicer than anything she could afford to buy her daughter.

What.the.hell?

I am not above buying used things – please see my car, house, and possible guest room dresser as evidence.  But towels?  Never that.  I understand being on a budget, but come on now.  It’s not like the girl is starting college in four months – she’s got a whole ‘nother year of high school to complete.  You could buy one “expensive” towel set a month and send her off in style if that’s your desire, but buying used bath towels?  To borrow a phrase from Pserendipity (or is it TIH?), and one from W.hitney Houston “hell to the no ma’am Sam!”

32 thoughts on “Whoa, Whoa, Whoa Kemosabe

  1. Wow, has she NOT heard of Walmart, Target, Kmart, Sears and JC Penney?
    They always have sales, and Target even has a section for the “return to school”. Used towels??? WHY????

    • See, that’s what I was thinking too. She keeps talking about how the resident’s towels would be nicer – from Dillards? I don’t know. But I’m like even if you don’t want to buy from Walmart, Target, etc., buy your “expensive” towels one at a time. I’m just not feeling this used towel deal at all.

  2. I love used stuff as much (or probably more) than the next person but I can’t get down with that. That chick doesn’t need the fluffy plush $30 towels. She just needs to dry off. Get her the 2 for $5 set and keep it moving.

  3. When I moved to Atlanta I sold pretty much everything (on ebay – this was 2001). The towels went quickly (and yes, that disgusted me), but I was shocked when someone actually bought the sheets – and paid decent money for them! Eeek.

  4. I need to start packing my own towels for my next hotel stay.
    I don’t lay on hotel bedspreads because I figure they aren’t washed too often, I don’t use the hotel glasses because of a news report and now I shall be disgusted about the towels.

  5. Um onefromphilly summed my thoughts up entirely. Hell she can catch JC Penny’s on a sale and get a complete set of 7 (wash cloths and towels) for $35-50 total.

  6. If you stay in a hotel and use the towels, isn’t that the same thing? Or is it just the fact that the towels had one owner. But, then again, that would be better. Dang.

    • I thought about the hotel angle. I don’t know – something about buying used towels just doesn’t sit right with me.

      Then I thought about your post and was trying to figure out if I was trying to spend my boss’ money for her. Hell, I don’t know.

  7. Ewww. Will the daughter even want to use someone else’s towels? When I went away to college, we got everything from Tar Jay.

  8. I used to feel the same way….but as P said….we use towels and sheets in hotels.

    Hell…we even sleep on mattresses that others have….ahem…been on….

  9. No, no, no. You do not buy used towels. I don’t know why it’s different from the towels, sheets and mattresses at a hotel, but for some reason it is to me. I’ll have to ponder why that is, but until then I’ll stick with my convictions on this one and say that buying used towels is not cool. Not cool at all.

  10. Um I dont even use the towels in a hotel… I always bring my own. She needs to just go buy the girl some towels – a big towel is like 7 bucks at walmart

Leave a Reply

