Home » Books » Everyday Life

Everyday Life

That’s what’s been going on around these parts.  A whole lot of nothing and everything at the same time.

School starts on August 8, so I’ve been picking up a few things here and there so Lovegirl can have a few new outfits for the beginning of the school year.  This year is much easier since we’re not transitioning from uniforms like we were last year.  She’s requested “lots of skirts and lots of leggings.”  I don’t know about lots and lots – I’m aiming for “some and some.”

I hate that one of my favorite bloggers has taken her blog private.  I understand, but I hate it.  I don’t think I’ll ever cease to be amazed at internet gangsters.  Dumb asses.

Lovegirl is really enjoying being in the pool and I’m glad we decided to do two sets of lessons this summer.  I let her get in the therapy pool (0-4ft) for a little while after her lessons on Tuesday.  And she promptly had to be rescued by the lifeguard.  She was so busy having a good time – and talking – that her noodle got away from her and she couldn’t get her bearing.  It wasn’t funny, but I laughed.  After her rescue, my girl put on a float vest and jumped right back in the pool!

There were all sorts of law enforcement vehicles in our subdivision Monday evening.  Turns out some television stealing dude fled into our neck of the woods, hopped out his car, peeled off his clothes and took off running.  They caught him in the woods after about 2 hours.  I guess being half naked was supposed to help with aerodynamics??

Today’s the end of the work week for me.  There’s a summer camp program tomorrow at eleven and I figured instead of splitting the day up all weird and crazy-like I’d just take the day off.  Yay!

I’m going to redeem my Mother’s Day gift certificate tomorrow – massage, manicure and pedicure.  Bliss!  Thank you Smoochy 🙂

Have I mentioned that I really like my iPhone?  I do.  But I can’t believe the thing doesn’t have a speed dial function.  Does it?  Did I miss something?

My brother and his fiancee are apparently thinking of having a destination wedding.  I know it’s selfish of me, but I really hope they don’t as we likely wouldn’t be able to go.

Has anyone read The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao?  I’ve been trying to read it for nearly a month, I’m just not feeling it.  Guess it’s a good thing I don’t sit on the Pulitzer committee…

Have a great weekend, I’m off to do a little work-related reading and sketch out our weekend plans.

Peace and blessings.

30 thoughts on “Everyday Life

  1. I wondered where her blog went, I assumed it went private.
    Do you have a list of favorites in your iphone? Set that up and then you kinda have speed dial.

    • I have a favorites list, but I don’t know, I guess years and years of just pressing “5” and getting my Mom has spoiled me! Now it takes what, 3 or 4 steps 🙂

  2. I’ve read TBWLoOW and there were sections my eyes just scanned over. But not many. Once I figured out who was who and when they were who, it was a good read. PS, I like the some and some as opposed to lots and lots…I’m stealing that line!

  3. How do you make a blog private? And did she do it because of stalkers/bullies? This type of stuff is always intersting to me. I hear it can get dangerous in these internet streets but since I have yet to see it come my way, I am always curious about other peoples stories.

    • I think you can set it up somewhere in your settings to have it password accessible only.

      I had one troll about a year ago, but I guess they figured there was nothing to see here and moved along. Thank God.

  4. Can you take me shopping for lots and lots, too, mom? LOL Your girl is so fearless! I love it! I thought of going private. Actually I’ve occasionally thought of it. But it’s more because I don’t want to be judged by future employers or students because of something I said lo these many years ago. I was down for a destination wedding (if you get enough people it’s actually quite cheap for the bride and groom) but his grandma wouldn’t be able to travel so that was immediately shot down. And realistically, it wouldn’t have been financially sound for many in my family. But it was the easiest way to invite everybody and know most wouldn’t come. Obviously didn’t happen. Read Oscar Wao the first time the hype was mad in the book world. Really? So didn’t get the hype either. I finished it and was kind of mad and looking for someone to give it to so I didn’t have to have it in my possession. Yeah. Like that.

    • Next time you’re here, we’ll hit up the dollar jewelry store!! They want to go to Belize for their nuptials. And I want them to do what’s best for them, but Belize is definitely not in the budget for us. I checked Oscar out from the library. I’m still mad.

  5. I know what you mean…life has been crazy busy around these parts too. It seems like the kids just got out of school. Their camp is over next week and than 2 weeks later they start school. This summer FLEW by.

    The more and more I’ve been thinking about wedding related things, the more I want a destination wedding..even if it’s somewhere like Vegas.

    I can’t wait till this weekend. We’re going out of town for a family function. It’s definitely time for me to be around those I LOVE and to just chill out.

    Don’t even get me started on internet gangstas..smdh.

    • My brother and sister-in-law got married in Vegas. It was really nice. If I were looking to get married, I’d totally consider a Vegas wedding. The man that married them sounded just like the minister on The Simpsons. It was hilarious.

      Hope you had a great time this weekend!

  6. One of my fav blogs is private now too. 😦

    I’m glad jas isn’t school aged yet, I don’t wanna school shop lol

    Destination weddings seem nice but everyone won’t be able to make it so I wouldn’t even consider it

    • I think it depends on when the wedding is and where. I have to budget for things – so while I won’t be mad if they do decide to get hitched in Belize, they need to understand that we’ll only be there in spirit! My youngest brother and his crazy wife, I mean my SIL, were talking about going to South Africa for theirs. Yeah, okay.

  7. Hope you enjoy your spa day! That sounds beyond awesome.

    I actually liked Oscar Wao. If you’re still interested in stuff by Junot Diaz, he published Drown, a collection of short stories before his first novel. I know some people that didn’t like his novel but liked the stories. Maybe if your local library has it?

  8. I’ve been trying to finish The Elegance of the Hedgehog all summer…I’m only on chapter 4 maybe

    This summer as flown by…school starts for Babe in three weeks!!! Can’t even believe it!

    • Have I broken up with you lately? Rack on racks? Is that what he’s saying? What the heck does that mean? Do I want to know????

      I refuse to listen to that song of my own free will to answer any of the above questions!!!

  9. I was very sad about her blog too. But I understand her decision.I also didnt like the Oscar Wao book i bought it because of 1969 but i didn’t like it. I read it til the end because I bought it and im cheap but it never gets better. Ive decided to stop being a lurker I’m losing blogs left and right because of ignorant comments and just in case you lock yours i want you to know me 🙂

  10. Yeah , I read Oscar in class one semester- HATED it. I am a reader , but that was like pulling teeth. Wait – school starts on the 8th? When is school over then?

  11. I started reading Oscar Wao to see what the hype was about. It bored me to tears and I never finished it (kind of like Gatsby the 4 times it was assigned to me). How does school start in August? i would be the saddest kid around..I think school starts sometime after Labor Day around here.

    • Okay, I did like Gatsby. Oh wait, I liked the movie, not the book. Like I said, good thing I don’t sit on prize winning book committees – some of these famous authors…wouldn’t be.

  12. School starts really early there. Ours is a week AFTER labor day. A close blogger friend of mine (or so I thought) also took her blog private and although I’ve requested access via email (we often chatted offline), have yet to receive it and it’s been over a month. Trying not to hate but just pray all is well and nothing crazy has happened to prompt the change.

    • I had a similar situation with a blogger from way back. I still think of her and hope that all is well and it’s been years since she went private. Ah well.

    • LOL! I’m the same way. I probably can’t read it any faster because of all the breaks I take to wonder who the heck liked this book enough to finish it?!?

Leave a Reply

