Home » Blogroll » The Answers…

The Answers…

From Kim: What made you start blogging? Do you enjoy it?  Well Kim, I started blogging when I was pregnant with Lovegirl.  At the time I just wanted to chronicle my pregnancy and experiences as a new mother.  I can’t even remember where that blog was hosted now…

I do enjoy it.  I still think of my blog primarily as a journal that I just happen to let other people read and comment on.  I’m not as open here as sometimes I would like to be and have considered starting a private blog for my eyes only.

From Pserendipity:  Why do you love Pserendipity so? Wouldn’t you agree that among friends, she’s the BEST FLIPPIN’ THING since sliced bread? On a scale of 1-10, isn’t she, like, an 11?

I need new friends.  Must be willing to relocate to the Jackson, MS metro area.  Needs to possess a great sense of humor, have a kind heart, and be mother to my favorite Aidan ever!  Preferred but not mandatory:  willingness to dispense free legal advice on occasion.  Aw hell, I’ll keep the P I have for as long as I have her!

Yes Psonya with a P.  You are definitely an 11.

From TIH:  I need you to blog about how the dude in your office felt comfy enough to ask you to sew on a damn button???????????  Hell, I don’t know.  I was walking down the hall and he called out “Hey, Nerd Girl!  You’re a female, can you sew this button on for me.”  I just said “nope” and kept it moving.  I obviously need to work on my mean-mug ’cause these people are getting out of control!

From AR Gal:

Do you think AR Gal will start blogging again? Selfish ain’t I making this about me. Tough tidy.  Nah, not really.  I think AR Gal is content to bring humor to the masses  through her oh-so-witty comments, gifs, and Facebook updates.  If we could convince her to join Twitter then life as we know it would be damn near perfect!

Why has everyone lost their blogging mojo? (Personally, I blame FB, life demands and the fact that folks have been blogging for so long. We’s ty-red!)  I blame FB, Twitter, and the even keel that everyone’s lives seem to be on right now.  No dating drama, no wedding preparations, no crazy husbands, no bosses to bitch about…everybody seems happy just handling and living day-to-day life.  Maybe P and I can start some fake blog beef and shake things up…

Why do people STILL say lookded, likeded, skinded?  As long as there are places named Toad Suck, Arkansas; Possumneck, Mississippi; and Blue Goose, Tennessee; people will say lookded, likeded, and skinded!

What is LG currently doing?  Besides driving me crazy?  Having the best time of her life!  Navigating first grade, expanding her musical horizons (she’s loving EWF and Bruno Mars!), joining Girl Scouts, consuming copious amounts of nachos at JSU football games, and misinterpreting the Bible. 

What are you currently doing?  Wondering how people with more than one child do it.  Trying to clean my dadgum house up.  Contemplating giving up poultry.  Hoarding nail polish.  Thinking this world really is going to hell in a handbasket.

Do you want to be doing what you are currently doing? If not, what would you like to be doing?  On a professional level – I’m good.  I need to go back to school and get my PhD, but haven’t fully committed myself to it.  Personally – I need to widen my social circle.  Not really sure how to do this since most people work my nerves…

Have you ever drank Ripple? (I haven’t but would like to try it)  No ma’am I have not.  Unless it is one of the secret ingredients in Q Punch.  In that case, I may have sampled some a decade or two ago!  If we ever meet up, I’ll bring the Ripple, you bring the plastic cups!

What hair removal technique to you prefer? Nair, razor, wax, nothing, other?  Razors.

What’s your favorite type of juice?  Gin and.  I kid.  I’m partial to orange juice.  Of course, I’m highly allergic to it and break out whenever I drink it, but that doesn’t stop me from chugging a glass or three a few times a year.

Records or mp3′s?  MP3s.  I’m scared of records.  But that’s mostly because I remember the arse whipping my brother got when he used my dad’s expensive needle to play DJ in the mid-80s.

From Simply B:

Any plans to cut your locs?  Nope, not in the foreseeable future!  I do think that they’re about as long as I want them, so I think I’ll probably keep them trimmed to the length they are now.  Did I ever tell y’all the loctician wants $90 to dye them???

Who is your favorite housewife from each of the seasons?  I’ve really let most of the Housewives go.  I watched a few episodes of BH, but just felt so bad for Taylor I stopped.  I guess I’ll watch ATL when it starts back up.  All the BH chicks work my nerves, but I guess I’d probably pick Kyle as my favorite.  Used to be Adrienne, but watching her and Paul fall apart…I just can’t with her any longer.  My favorite ATL housewife is Khandi.

What do you think about Christians drinking likka?  Not that my opinion matters…but you know I have one 🙂  I don’t think there’s anything wrong with indulging in a nip or two.  The Bible warns against being sloppy drunk and losing control.  Everything in moderation.

Were (Are) you Troy Davis?  From the little I heard/read I think he probably should’ve been granted a new trial.  I’m generally against the death penalty.  Too much uncertainty.  And it doesn’t seem to be meted out fairly.  I cannot fathom how Charles Manson and all those folks are still alive and others, well, aren’t.

Do you wish Smoochy was home more often?  Hmmm.  Yes and no.  I like my space so for my own selfish purposes I’m cool with things the way they are now.  However, I also wish he were here for the day-to-day.  I often feel like I’m filling him in on “our” lives and that he’s not as much as part of them as he should be.  He’s actually home most Tuesdays and Thursdays – but it’s while Lovegirl and I are at school/work.  If he were here when we are on those days, I think it’d be ideal.

Is there ever an instance were divorce is an option for you?  Never say never.  But I firmly believe that most divorces occur because of hardened hearts.  I do my best to keep my heart soft.

Have things gotten better with bro and sis in law?  Sigh.  Not really.

What do you use to clean up nail polish that went over the lines?  I paint my nails at night, so I clean any mistakes up in the shower the next morning – the warm water helps the polish peel right off the skin.

Now that you’ve completed the 100 push up challenge are there any plans to shoot for 200? 150? 101? (LOL)  Heck no!  I am doing the 200 squat challenge though!

Can you extend the deadline for Malcolm X?  Sure – I’ve only made it to page 100 72.  When are you thinking?

Are you happy with your new position. Can we get an update?  I am happy with my new position – thanks for asking.  A lot of my work is done in phases, so I’m at a bit of a lull right now, and waiting for things to pick back up.  I do miss the students and hope to be able to work with them again at some point down the road.  I work with them a bit now, but nothing substantial.

Is there a blogger you’ve stopped reading or blocked?  Not that I can think of.  If they’re still blogging, I’m still reading.

Have you ever eaten stewed chicken?  If I have, I didn’t know it.  Wet chicken doesn’t sound appealing to me.  It’s probably delicious though…you?

From Sayitlikethis:

What’s your theme song?  I don’t have one.  Maybe I’ll commission someone to write a song for and about me!  My happy song is 3 Little Birds by Bob Marley.  My angry black woman song is Move by Ludacris.  The song that will always get me on the dance floor is Got To Give It Up by Marvin Gaye.  The gospel song that always makes me cry is I Understand by Smokie Norful.

Do you use Seche Vite top coat when you polish? If so, do you like it?  Yes and yes!  Love the stuff.  I have noticed it pulls a little at the base, but that doesn’t stop me from using it – makes my manicures and pedicures quick and painless.  And they last forever!

How did you start your locs? Do you maintain them yourself or get them professionally done?  I had a lady start and maintain them for me for about a year – once they locked up I started doing them myself.  Every once in a while (annually?) I get tired of doing them and will have them done professionally.  Then I get pissed that I just spent good money for a service I could’ve done myself and I’m good for another year 🙂

Thank y’all for playing along – I had fun!  Have a great weekend!!!

6 thoughts on “The Answers…

  1. You’re allergic to ORANGE JUICE!?!?!? THAT NECTAR OF JESUS!?!? *FAINTS!! FAINTS DEAD AWAY I SAY!!!* When my locs get about your length, maybe a little longer, I think I’m going to cut them into a style, a bob or something. 72!?!? SMH. I’m chuggin along. Once Betty Shabazz entered, the book picked up. I’m up to 205 now. Can we extend by just a week? I feel like if we go past that I might forget all of the things I wanted to say. My dad traveled like that when we were growing up. But he wasn’t home weekly. He’d be gone for weeks at a time. Up to 6. In busy season, he might be home a weekend, then gone again. Then in the summer, he was off for 6 weeks. He was our toy when he came home.

    • Awful, right? It makes me break out something terrible! I’ll need the verse that reveals oj to be the nectar of Jesus!! LOL! I’m still waiting for my locs to even out. The top is considerable shorter than the back. Maybe eventually it’ll all be the same length. I’m up to page 140 or so. I’m getting there. Smoochy is definitely Lovegirl’s toy!

  2. Thank you for answering my questions!!

    I would have loved to read your thoughts while LG was growing.
    I’m allergic to onions but I love them so much. I feel your pain.
    I’m going to attempt to paint my nails this weekend. Wish me luck!!
    A 1 week extension should be good for me.
    Stewed chicken is quite yummy. That was a go to dish when my mom was running low on time and funds. Just onion, chicken, salt, pepper, and gravy.

    • Thanks for asking them!

      If I can find the blog, I’ll give you the link. Allergic to onions? That’s awful! How’d your nails turn out?? When were we supposed to discuss? Next week? I’ll check. Do you cook the chicken in the oven or on top of the stove?

  3. I don’t feel bad about being allergic to pineapples now that I see you’re allergic to OJ. Does Benadryl help? Take a couple of those before chugging….you’ll be drowsy, but that’s about it.

    I love Bob Marley! I have the kid version of his music. Got it for Buddha but it does wonders for your mood.

    Between you and K. Rock, I have loc envy all the time! I’ll get there.

Leave a Reply

