Home » Blogroll » The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games

Well….what’d y’all think?

I really enjoyed this book.  Initially I didn’t think I would – I’m quick to toss a book aside if it doesn’t catch my attention in the first few pages – but I hung in there and wound up devouring it rather quickly.

So I could totally see the events in this book occurring.  And I think that’s why I enjoyed the book as much as I did.  I’ve realized that as long as something seems remotely possible to me, I can handle it.  Star Trek, Vulcans and all that jazz – not my style.  But this type of futuristic fiction is cool with me.

I’m looking forward to finishing the trilogy.  Which I didn’t know was written for young adults until someone’s husband (ahem, Jameil!) clowned me about our selection on the Twitter.

Anyhoo, I’ve actually got to work today (I worked last week – this is getting ridiculous!) so I’m just going to drop in throughout the day and contribute to the conversation I hope y’all will start in 3…2…1…

Here are some prompts to get the discussion started.  Answer these or feel free to just tell us what you thought!  I’ll be back 🙂

  1. How quickly did you read The Hunger Games?
  2. Did your perception of Peeta change over the course of The Hunger Games?
  3. Do you think the glamorization of the Games and the treatments of its stars before they are sent off to die is a reflection of anything in our modern society?
  4. Do you think Katniss will be able to choose and keep love or will she have to make the ultimate sacrifice?

 

25 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. How quickly did you read The Hunger Games?
    I read the whole series about a year ago so I don’t remember exactly but I was on vacation for a week and I read them all on that trip so probably not more than a day or two apiece?

    Did your perception of Peeta change over the course of The Hunger Games?
    Sort of. I definitely respected him more over the course of the games. I felt like he was a good moral center BUT I did want him to flip out on Katniss and tell her off. I felt like the author wanted so bad for us to think of him as good that he ended up being a little bland.

    Do you think the glamorization of the Games and the treatments of its stars before they are sent off to die is a reflection of anything in our modern society?

    Professional athletes, especially football players. Most retired football players are in bad shape, barely walking and their brains are damaged. Their bodies are broken by the time they’re 35 but they continue to volunteer because of the fame, glamour, money, etc. It’s disgusting that we put so much value on entertainment when it routinely crushes young people.

    Also, in general, I was so disgusted by the Capitol and its inhabitants. It really made me look for elements of materialism and superficiality in my life. There were themes of waste in the face of want and hunger for mindless entertainment that I really saw parallel our society. I try to be vigilant about excess and waste in my life but it made me want to examine it anew.

    Do you think Katniss will be able to choose and keep love or will she have to make the ultimate sacrifice?
    I read all three books so I’ll skip this one.

    • Re: Peeta. Agreed. At some point I was like “bruh, make a move, any move!”

      I thought of reality television and how these people parade themselves and their loved ones on tv for our entertainment and that many of them pay the ultimate price – loss of family – because of their quest for admiration from strangers.

      I can’t wait to finish the series!

      • Yep, reality TV is a definite connection to our society. I really thought of it when Katniss started to play to the audience in the hopes of getting “sponsors”.

  2. This is the first time I’m participating; I didnt realize this was the book selection until last week. This book seems to be all the rage so I put it on hold at the library and got it within a week.
    How quickly did you read The Hunger Games? about 2-3 days
    Did your perception of Peeta change over the course of The Hunger Games?
    Do you think the glamorization of the Games and the treatments of its stars before they are sent off to die is a reflection of anything in our modern society?
    Do you think Katniss will be able to choose and keep love or will she have to make the ultimate sacrifice?

    I don’t get the point of this book – is it to highlight our depravity? is it to say love conquers all? is it to say that there’s a little bit of depravity in all of us? is it about the 1% controlling the 99%? Is it to show how resourceful we can become during times of duress?

    It’s a well written book with an intriguing story line, but I’m still trying to answer some of my questions above. In the end, it left me disturbed by all that it implies about the human condition.

  3. I’ll read the rest of the series. I can’t take the cliffhangers! I finished it in less than 24 hours which makes it fun! I wish there wasn’t such a ridiculous wait for the books at the library. I had to buy the first one. At least it was cheap. I honestly didn’t look that deeply into the book. I was absolutely horrified by the sacrificing of the children and the desolation of the districts. I loved the parachuted gifts. I was completely cool with Peeta holding back. If he’d charged in sharing his feelings, he wouldn’t have gotten anywhere. Katniss wasn’t ready. She still wasn’t ready by the end of the first book. I’m intrigued by the idea of her on the training side of the Hunger Games. If the games must go on, I want to know what happens.

  4. I read The Hunger Games in just a couple of days. It was a really short read, and once it grabbed my attention, I was hooked. I had to know what happened. I don’t care that it was written for young adults, I enjoyed anyway.

    Peeta was someone that I initially felt sorry for. When he asked for separate training, I wanted to bash his skull in, lol. I thought his profession of love in the beginning was heartfelt and I believed him. It was re-enforced when he allowed her to escape when the Careers were after her.

    #3- let me get back to you on that one. Hmm.

    I think Katniss is smart, but doubts herself. If she can get past her doubts, I believe she will find the strength & resolve to keep love and find some peace somewhere.

    Overall- I enjoyed the book, and I plan to read the next 2 books in the series.

    • I got heated when he asked for separate training too!

      I want to see how she responds to the fame and attention she’s going to receive back in her district. Will she become a trainer? Will her life improve in the manner she thinks it will? I’ve got to know!!!

  5. I am enjoying the discussions that our book club choices have brought. It is interesting to me how profound statements and actions can be when explored versus “Idid/not like the book” comments.

    1.How quickly did you read The Hunger Games?
    I take my time and reflect on various scenes or comments. Then I project myself into that situation to see how I would act or react. I am not a devourer or books so it took longer than I would have liked. It is an easy read though.

    2.Did your perception of Peeta change over the course of The Hunger Games?
    I did not trust Peeta. Profession of love seemed to be a ploy to save himsel. His alliance with the Careers backfired because he actually thought there was a certain amount of compassion within that circle. The Careers proved themselves to be ruthless and uncaring.

    3.Do you think the glamorization of the Games and the treatments of its stars before they are sent off to die is a reflection of anything in our modern society? I think we are a blood thirsty society that enjoys seeing the vulnerability of others. We also like the idea of physical combat, physical power and victory at all cost–that includes death to the opponent. We often find our strength in the weakness of others. I found it interesting that the author chose to have a male and female representative from each district vs the
    youngest or poorest or strongest or whatever handicaps that could be arbitrarily imposed.
    4.Do you think Katniss will be able to choose and keep love or will she have to make the ultimate sacrifice?
    Katniss has inner strength that has not been completely revealed or used. I hope she will come to appreciate her own existence as the series unfolds for me. Obviously, I still need to read the other 2 books to know that answer but I can hope. I did come to realize that we all hope to have someone to trust and depend on. Sometimes our first glance may be seeing that person as an enemy but a relationship does develop for whatever reason: Rue and Katniss.

    • Ma’am. A simple it took me a really long time would’ve sufficed!!

      You say you did not trust Peeta – did you at the book’s conclusion?

      The relationship between Rue and Katniss – short as it was – made me smile.

      • Oh J’ADORE your response to number one!! “I take my time and reflect on various scenes or comments. Then I project myself into that situation to see how I would act or react.” Wow! What a thoughtful way to read! I get all into it and see myself as a passive observer. I sometimes hear my brain telling them not to do things but I can’t say I take my time and reflect on most scenes!

  6. Fail. I didn’t even realize there was a book on deck for this month. However–I wanted to let you know that Tananarive Due has a new book in the series, “My Soul to Keep” if you’ve moved on to The Living Blood and Blood Colony.

    • Hahah! I didn’t read My Soul to Take w/ everyone else (as I said I would)…but I did read it…which made me find the rest of the series. The Living Blood was very good, but I haven’t started Blood Colony or My Soul to Keep yet.

    • I didn’t read these with everyone else either but I did go back and have now read all four. I got into it SO backwards, though. I read the third and fourth books and then went back to the first and second. LOL! It destroyed some of the big surprises of the first couple books that way but they’re so well-written that I still enjoyed reading them all. My favorites were the first and the most recent. It’s a good series!

  7. I read every book but never participate in the book discussions!

    I actually read the Hunger games last year…and ended up downloading all 3 to my Nook and read them within a week. This book/storyline just GRABS you and you have no choice but to sit down and enjoy/horrified at the ride.

    1.How quickly did you read The Hunger Games?
    Read all 3 in series in one week. Got obsessed and couldn’t put it down. I found the series by looking at B&N best books of 2010 so many people suggested this. I try to look at B&N and Kindle every year for good books.

    2.Did your perception of Peeta change over the course of The Hunger Games?
    Yes…I hated him and then I loved him.

    3.Do you think the glamorization of the Games and the treatments of its stars before they are sent off to die is a reflection of anything in our modern society?
    Yes…and maybe that is what I found so interesting. As an avid watcher of anything reality, I realize that I will watch ANYTHING…and can see this being a new “game”. Sad state of affairs. I thought it so sad that for the first time, they could actually eat good food and be full. I also hated that so many kids died. That broke my heart.

    4.Do you think Katniss will be able to choose and keep love or will she have to make the ultimate sacrifice?
    Katniss is my shero…I will say by the end of the 3rd book, I was READY for it to end.

Leave a Reply

