Home » Testimony » Seven Whole Days…Times Three

Seven Whole Days…Times Three

It’s that time again – time for our church’s annual Daniel fast and this year I am ready!  I’ve done this fast four times previously – successfully three times and not so successfully last year.  My spirit wasn’t right and the fast was a big bust.  This year I have prayed in advance for a successful fast.  In addition to what we are fasting for as a church, I am fasting because I want to see clearly what God’s purpose for my life is.  I’m sad that at almost 40, I don’t know.  I am also trusting God for improved relationships with my brother.  And his wife.

Beginning Sunday, January 8 and ending Sunday, January 29 I am only going to consume fruits, vegetables, beans, brown rice, water, and 100% fruit and/or vegetable juice.  I’m also not listening to any secular music during the three week period.  This is what I’ve been led to do, different people in our congregation will fast from different things and some won’t fast at all.

This weekend I’ll be stocking up on a bunch of fruits and veggies with an eye toward making vegetable soup, smothered cabbage, and succotash for this week’s meals.  I really am looking forward to this time of denying my flesh so that my relationship with God  can flourish.

And though I’m not fasting to lose weight, there’s no way I won’t end this month weighing less than I did when then month began.  Maintenance is a whole ‘nother story….

Have a marvelous weekend – see you on the other side!

 

8 thoughts on “Seven Whole Days…Times Three

  1. Sounds like an awesome fast , best wishes. I just made a vegetarian black bean chilli that was delIcious. It included sweet potatoes and carrots. Very filling

  2. YAY! I can’t wait to hear how it goes. My church is doing a fast as well. Last week it was a liquid diet. Meanwhile my Pastor was on Facebook talking about his favorite restaurants (for when the fast is over). My girl texted me like “I need Pastor to stay on task.” LOL!

Leave a Reply

